• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Impedance question. Layman’s terms please😂

UptonPK

Novice Member
Hi,
I’m a bit new to all this so please take it easy on me! Small words etc😂. I have a PHILIPS MICRO MUSIC SYSTEM BTB2570/12 BLUETOOTH DAB FM RF3075. On the back, by the speaker cable terminals it says “8 ohms”. I want to connect two Roth OLi RA1 speakers to each side ie left & right so I have a total of four speakers. The speakers are 6 ohms each. My understanding is that I can do this safely as long as I connect them in Series and NOT Parallel. Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks.

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member
Correct. Paralleling speakers reduces impedance and series increases it. Your amplifier would probably quite happily drive both pairs in parallel, but you do run the risk of damaging it if you turn it up too loud.

Big question is why you want to connect 4 speakers to a stereo amplifier. There's rarely any benefit to doing it.

UptonPK

Novice Member
Thanks. It’s just because of the size of the area I want to cover. So are you saying that I should connect in Series but could connect in Parallel providing I keep the volume down?

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member
It's a risk to connect in parallel, but depending upon the amplifier, you may find that it won't go loud enough in series.

Hixs

Distinguished Member

UptonPK

Novice Member
One last thing, if I did try to connect in series, the worst that can happen is that it will be low volume? Or could more serious damage occur?

Hixs

Distinguished Member
What sort of size room are we looking at here? you may well be over estimating what you need.

UptonPK

Novice Member