1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iMON VFD or Media Center Remote

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by springtide, Oct 12, 2005.

1. springtide

springtide

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +470
    I've just ordered a case which comes with the iMON VFD remote. There's no option not to have the iMON as it's built in (MCubed HFX)

The HTPC I'm building is to sit under the TV and is going to replace my DVD, CD and Video Players. It will be running Windows Media Center and will be used by my wife on a daily basis.

I've talked to a friend who has the Media Center remote and is very happy with it's "useability" and the fact that "it just works". He also has the MS Media Center keyboard which he is very pleased with.

I've no experience of the iMON product so I'm looking for advice. Should I stick with the iMON or just scrap it and replace it with the Media Center Remote? (I have been thinking about leaving the VFD in for displaying only)

Anyone use iMON or experience of both?

2. Barbarosa

Barbarosa
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the iMon remote and it works fine with MC. It works by mapping keystrokes to the buttons, so can be set up with any app. It also has a mouse mode, which works ok, but is a bit fiddely.

I've not tried the MS remote so I can't compare the two, but I'm happy with the iMon one.

3. Skunkpipe

Skunkpipe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The imon software has a MCE scheme and all works well (don't install the install the Multi Median software)

If you're used to the MCE remote it might feel a bit strange, but if not it's pretty intuative, plus offers some extras like mouse control.

It's nice to have it integrated, and IMHO the only reason to go for MCE remote if you have iMon is if you need the IR Blasters

4. Duggy

Duggy