image retention

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by degs2112, Mar 27, 2006.

1. degs2112

degs2112

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please forgive me, another image retention/screen burn post, i have searched and cant find a definative answer,if there is one.
    I'm new to this home cinema/plasma malarky,just about finished my plasma wall ready to hang a panasonic Th37pe50 and just recently noticed that most of the channels my kids watch have images in one or both top corners.
    Are there any guidelines on how long it is ok to watch such a channel before screen burn affects this particular tv.
    any advice appreciated,
    Cheers.

2. jackal

jackal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just turn the contrast, which sets the white level, low for the kid's programmes and you should be ok.

3. Dom996

Dom996

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    On a Panasonic, turn the Dynamic Mode off, they all seem to come like this default out of the box, also as suggested drop the contrast and brightness settings, especially from new.

Despite being a fan of the current Pioneers, generally in my experience the Panasonics are very good at not image retaining.

4. Dave

Dave
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    When I had my new panasonic, I turned dynamic mode off, lowered the brightness and contrast and was careful not to leave a static image on the screen for more than an hour-ish for the first few hundred hours.

Since then I haven't even thought about it and play on the xbox for 4 or 5 hours with no problems at all.:smashin:

5. Dom996

Dom996

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    Like I said, Pioneer has the edge in PQ, but you need to be careful of retention at first, but the Pannys seem indestructible.

6. degs2112

degs2112

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0