Image Calibration, DVD player or TV?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Matt, May 8, 2007.

  1. Matt

    Matt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +20
    When i use DVE to set-up my system do i make the brightness,contrast etc changes on the DVD players menu or the TV's?
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Telly.
    Of course those settings will only apply for the DVD player being inputted.
    They may well need tweaking for any other source.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,101
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Gordon, can you expand on that a bit, just for info please?

    Do you mean if the player isn't putting out the correct level of contrast or brightness in the first place?
    Or just if you can't get satisfactory settings?
    I would have thought that even if, let's say, the contrast level was too low on the player, you would just compensate with the telly?
    Probably the totally wrong way to do it, I know, but I'd guess that's what most would do, seeing as they wouldn't have the means to measure exactly what's coming out of the player.

    Not sure that's very clear, but hope you get what I mean :smashin:
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,101
    Hi Badger,

    You usually find that with most tv's on their default cinema settings for contrast and brightness the test patterns should look correct if the incoming signal is correct....or at least it'll be real close. However....I have seen several folk who have been unable to see parts of test patterns no matter what they did on their displays and usually this is because the player is not outputting correct levels. Usually with analogue signals and usually because contrast is too high.

    I'd always assume the player is outputting correct levels to start though and work from that basis.....

    If you have a Sky box then always set contrast to medium or even low. If it's at HGH you usually will be crushing bright detail.

    Gordon
     
  6. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Ah, I see :smashin:

    I figured the Sky contrast thing for myself, so know where you're coming from there.

    As for the rest, very informative :thumbsup:

    Thanks very much mate, cheers :smashin:
     
  7. Matt

    Matt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks for the help, i will attempt to use the TV controls and see how I get on, If the output for my Freeview and Wii looks too bad i can always go back to the DVD controls.
     

Share This Page

Loading...