iMac upgrade (late 2009)

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by newbie1, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,756
    My iMac is now 9 years old, it’s had a few upgrades - 500gb SSD, 3TB drive, 12 GB ram and it still works, just very slow rendering video in premiere pro and previewing photos in Lightroom. Photo mechanic is a much faster option for previewing photos so leaves the slow video editing as the main reason to upgrade.

    I want to keep with Mac so I’m thinking of a new Mac mini and keeping the iMac to use as a screen.

    Thoughts? Any other ideas?

    And a specific question will a usb c / thunderbolt 3 to Mini DisplayPort allow me to use the old iMac screen? It looks like it should, does anyone know for sure?
     
  2. wysinawyg

    wysinawyg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +247
    It will work with the right cabling / adaptor by the looks of it:

    Use your iMac as a display with Target Display Mode

    I’m in a similar boat so if you do go ahead I’d be interested in what it’s like to use - i.e. do you leave the iMac in sleep and it wakes on demand from the Mini?
     
  3. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,756
    Very likely to go ahead. I’ve ordered a usb c to Mini DisplayPort connector. Now deciding what Mac mini spec to go for and whether to upgrade ram myself or order with more included.
     
  4. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,846
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +514
    Definitely order the minimum ram you can and then upgrade yourself. Super easy job and save you loads.
     
  5. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,709
    If you can still replace the RAM yourself then do so, much much cheaper. My biggest frustration with my MBP is that nothing it user replaceable anymore :mad::mad::mad:
     
  6. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,756
    I’ve pulled the trigger - Mac mini with i7 6 core CPU, 8GB RAM, and 512 SSD. Separately ordered 32GB. Should arrive mid Jan.
     
  7. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,756
    Geekbench tells me performance is going to 3x for single core and 8x for multi core compared with the old iMac. Can’t wait.
     
  8. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,709
    Did your old one have SSD or HDD?
     
  9. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,756
    Upgraded OS drive to SSD about 3 years ago. Did get a good bump in performance.
     
  10. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +559
    You can upgrade the MBP yourself Snerks. You just replace the CPU, GPU, RAM, motherboard, SSD, screen, case and that stupid touchbar thing all at the same time.

    Job done :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice