1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm thinking of buying a projector......

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Eee-Tee, Jun 13, 2003.

1. Eee-Tee

Eee-Tee
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm pretty new to the projector scene, and i'm looking for a basic machine, that will allow me to play my own VCD's/ DVDs via a DVD player

can you tell me the differences between the different types available?
    Am i right in saying i'd connect it via yellow/white/ red connectors, or S-video?
    Which is best?
    And do you all have a separate speaker system, or do you use the TV's?

2. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :eek:

Use Component if possible, S-Video is a bit pants (just tried comparing S-Video and component and Component has alot more detail)

Don't use composite- the yellow connector... it's AWFUL!

There are two major types of front projection. CRT and LCD (DLP as well, but similar to LCD, really- just to simplify for now)

This is a typcial CRT projector..Big & heavy :) Roughly 75cm x 75cm x 45cm, at around 50-60Kg.

http://www.crtprojectors.co.uk/bg808_2.jpg

and this is a LCD projector

http://www.bnotions.com/ProdImages/TH-AE300-BIG.gif

About the size of laptop, but a bit higher.

Most have audio seperates, of various quality- from all in one or high quality components. If if you have a PJ, why should the TV be on/use the speakers?

3. Eee-Tee

Eee-Tee
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok Nathan, thanks for the quick reply
    So am i right in saying that both PJs do the 'same job' but LCD's are better quality, or is it more than that?

Re: connections, which are the component? not sure if i've come by them before- are they labeled as that?

4. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned: