Im in over my head, need some sound advice

dannydeals

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the Home Theater / Audio world. I really don't know much about it and would certainly like to hear some opinions on what I have done and plan to do etc.. So that I can make some changes an try to get this somewhat right before its installed and too late.

I will be using this for Tv/Movies, but also for music.

I don't have a huge budget for this, just looking to try to right size everything and hopefully create a cool experience for the family. Im sure anything will be better than the Flat screen TV speakers and a soundbar, which is all I currently have.

That said, I built a second level on my home and now have a 32x22 living room. In a hurry while construction was going on my brother and I ran some 12g speaker wire to 6 positions in the ceiling ( 4 are near the seating area for Atmos and the other two are farther back behind the couches). We also ran 4 in wall positions ( 2 just behind the seating area pointing at each other and 2 on the back wall across the room behind the couches). We also ran a L,R & C position up by the TV and Cabinets etc..

So all in all I was planning on 14 speakers including the SUB. With advice from my brother (good or bad) I bought the Yamaha 3070 receiver, 6 - 8inch 2way Yamaha speakers for the ceiling ( insulated speaker boxes in the ceiling too for each speaker) and 4 - 8inch 3way speakers for the walls. I have not purchased the L,R & C speakers yet. I have not installed any of it as of yet.

I am guessing that I need and extra amp to power all of this? If so, how many channel amp should I buy to assist the receiver? Should I change the sizes of the speakers?

Thanks,
Dan

Why not start with a 5.4.2 setup and see how immersive it sounds? You can always add more later, as you have the cables in place. A 9.4.1 setup is a much more difficult proposition to get right and considerably more expensive.