1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm having problems with the Denon 2803. Can anyone help me please.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by tony kop77, Mar 8, 2004.

Tags:
  1. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    The amp at the back has 4 optical outs. I have connected my dvd player to optical 4 and my sky to optical 3 but if I try to conect any of the previous 2 to optical 1 or 2 or my xbox to optical 1 or 2 it does not seem to recognise it.
    I dont know what I am doing wrong, I would have thought it would detect there is something in optical 1 or 2 and just work.
     
  2. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    The 2803 has optical inputs, not outputs. Have you actually set up the digital input assignments using the on-screen menu?
     
  3. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    How do I set it up so I can get optical 1 and 2 to work? I did not do anything to get optical 3 and 4 to work, I just connected my dvd player to the amp and it worked same with optical 3.
     
  4. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    It does sound like you need to set up the digital input assignments, enable the optical inputs 1&2 and assign them to specific sources. You need to connect the 2803 up to a TV and run through the set up - I don't have the instructions at hand as I'm not at home.
     
  5. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    Thanks for your help engaged. I have just connected the amp to the tv and I am trying to get the set up menu on screen by pressing system set up on the remote but it wont come up.
    I had a problem trying to get the menu up before but just messed about with it and got it up in the end.

    Same with the off button I have to press zone maine 1 off to switch it off rather than the off button on the remote.
     
  6. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    Thanks engaged got the set up menu up and told it that there is a digital connection to input 1 and it worked.
    Bit embarassed now, my old amp was an old yamaha and it was not as flashy as the current amp and optical 3 and 4 just worked without me doing anything.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Pleasure.

    I only got my 2803 a month or so ago, and was on the phone to Sevenoaks within minutes of getting it home - in a panic as I couldn't get the banana plugs in the speaker connections. How was I to know about the little black plastic bits that you have to prise out...!
     
  8. tony kop77

    tony kop77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    I got the banana plugs too but found them a bit loose so did not bother using them. I like the amp, I only have it on -15db max normally it is about -18 or -20.
     

Share This Page

Loading...