i'm going to get sky+ and a pana e85

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Halloween Jack, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. Halloween Jack

    Halloween Jack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    after a bit of thought i've decided (almost) to buy the above. i'll probaby archive comedy series and films alot and i already have sky's full package. just wondering if you guys thought this would be a good and worthwhile set-up. also is the e85 a good buy or should i look at any others?

    thx
     
  2. jirob

    jirob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a related question, actually. I've got a Sky+ (whose HDD I'm tempted to upgrade), and I'm looking at a Panasonic E95 or E85. My question is; if I select a bunch of programmes on the Sky+ and tell it to archive them to tape, will the Panasonic know they're a number of separate programmes? Or will it just record a big lump that I have to cut down manually?
     
  3. Halloween Jack

    Halloween Jack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yet more questions: what's the difference between the e85 and e95?
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,966
    When I copied a lot of programs from Sky+ to my E85 it just treated it as one big lump. You can always edit the resulting "lump" on the panasonic hard disk though, or alternatively copy one program at a time.
    The difference between th 85 and 95 is that the 95 has Firewire (i-link) DV input and an SD card slot.
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    ...and a bigger HDD (160GB), JPEG viewer and LPCM recording.
     
  6. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as I can recall both the E85 & E95 have Linear PCM recording, although the E95 does have a DV-input aswell as the SD & PC card slots for memory cards.
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    ...as was mentioned by John.

    Are you sure on that? I could be wrong but I'm sure this was one of the cuts made: in the same way the E55 doesn't have it and the E65 does. As I am currently in the West Country away from my documentation and thus enable to check, perhaps an E85 owner can enlighten us?
     
  8. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol. I should have read the post properly.
     
  9. Halloween Jack

    Halloween Jack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, one more thing. what advantages will i get having sky+ and a dvdr/hdd over a sky+ and just dvdr? since i've never used a dvdr or hdd, i'm not sure what operational advantages i get from having the hdd too.

    thx

    aparently upgrading to sky+ is currently £150, does anyone think this will ever be £100 again?
     
  10. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the E85 manual says it can record LPCM.
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,966
    You get far more options for editing with a hdd/dvd combo, it makes it so much easier to get rid of adverts. Another big advantage is that once it's on the hard disk of the hdd/dvd recorder, then it's easy to make multiple copies of the same source by using high speed dubbing. I'm currently transfering a lot of my old VHS collection (stuff that I've recorded) onto DVD and I will make a couple of copies on different media for security purposes - thanks for that tip Rasczak !!
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    In which case I am wrong and scrub the LPCM recording difference from the list.
     
  13. scussy

    scussy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    iam looking at the E 55 and the E85,is it paying an extra £200 for the E 85,

    manual for the E85 is

    HERE

    STEVE
     
  14. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Presumably you're asking is it worth the extra £200, in which case, most definately yes.
    It boots up faster (when there is no DVD inserted), you can store 142hrs of stuff without messing around with DVD's, you can edit your stuff on HDD and then burn as many copies as you like to DVD, and on top of all that you can dub from HDD to DVD up to 32 times faster than it took to record it in the first place.
     
  15. scussy

    scussy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    thanks for the reply,i have gone with the E85 with the Viera 42",it will be a few days as the stand needs ordering,(they JL have run out of stands),
    could someone post or PM me the best way to set-up using component and scart cables with SKY,E85,S-vhs to the viera,no receiver yet,

    many thanks
    steve
     
  16. MuffKing

    MuffKing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SKY TV SCART set to RGB into AV2 on the E85 which will allow External Link 1 recording.

    E85 AV1 set to RGB to AV4 SCART on the TV at the same time as using the Component connection to AV4C allowing progressive signals. The AV4 SCART will also allow the Q-Link timer recording of Freeview then too (don't forget to change the TV setup menu to AV4 Q-Link and output to DVB).

    You can than link teh SKY box's TV SCART (again set to RGB) to AV1 on the TV and the S-VHS VCR to the TV's AV2/S SCART, although this would only allow you to playback tapes on the TV and record analogue TV if you also connect the RF leads through the VCR.
     
  17. scussy

    scussy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    many thanks muffkin,printed it off ,now get some cables from Mark Grant,

    steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...