I'm embarassed to ask.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by KiNeL, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. KiNeL

    KiNeL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    This is probably a very stupid question and I'm honestly embarrased to be asking it. My excuse is that I've been away from the "HiFi" scene for 20 years or more and have failed to keep up with this sort of thing.

    Anyhow, here goes:

    I have a Philips DVP721VR combo DVD/VCR and I would like to set up a surround sound system. The Philips manual doesn't even mention 5.1 but it does have both a coaxial O/P and also an TOSLINK connector so can I utilise one of these into a 5.1 decoder of some sort?
     
  2. eternaldark

    eternaldark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Inverness
    Ratings:
    +62
    yes you can, whichever one you use depends on your amp,
     
  3. KiNeL

    KiNeL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ok, I appreciate the point on the amplifier of course.

    So do I take it that, despite the fact the Philips manual says nothing about 5.1, the very presence of the connectors means it has 5.1 capability?

    Seems a bit daft to me if the device supports 5.1 not to say so somewhere!
     
  4. KiNeL

    KiNeL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    Don't mean to be controversial but found the following on a review site (edited out irrelevant stuff) and it seems pretty conclusive that this machine has no surround sound capability:

    Audio
    3D Surround No
    Dolby digital decoder No Indicates if there is an on-board Dolby Digital Decoder.
    DTS decoder No

    Outputs
    5.1ch decoded out No Required for DVD-Audio and SACD players, as well as DVD players with either Dolby Digital or DTS built-in decoding.

    Looks like I'll have to go shopping for a new DVD player which is a shame because the Philips is the best player I've ever had in terms of compatibility and has played absolutely everthing I've thrown at it, including DivX CD's. I need VCR also as I have a collection of tapes from way back.
     
  5. in2deep

    in2deep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just had a look on the Philips consumer website - if you put your player's model number into their search tool, you can open the user manual (pdf document)

    It mentions that the digital audio output can be set to either Dolby Digital, DTS or PCM, obviously for the DVD section only.

    So if you plug the appropriate connector into your digital receiver, you can output DD/DTS sound, and subsequently drive your surround system

    Hope that helps :smashin:
     
  6. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +399
    Don't rush out to the shops just yet, you'll be fine with your current player.

    The specs above are referring to onbaord decoding and output of the decoded signal to the 6-channel input of an AV amp. The Optical digital output (or Co-ax digital) sends a raw datastream to the amp which then does the decoding, rather than the player.

    EDIT. Must learn to type faster.:D
     
  7. KiNeL

    KiNeL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    So there is hope..............do you have a link for that Philips site ?
     
  8. in2deep

    in2deep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. pytter

    pytter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    Agree with Miniholic

    It would make no sense to have surround sound processing in an all in one unit that only has stereo speakers at best. the digital signal through the optical or coax connection will contain all the information for an A/V amp to decode the DTS/ Dolby Surround/etc information.
     
  10. KiNeL

    KiNeL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks to all for the info, now scouting eBay for an AV amplifier...!
     

Share This Page

Loading...