I'm also underwhelmed by HD

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by nikonuser11, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. nikonuser11

    nikonuser11
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +874
    don't get me wrong its a 'nice' picture but my SD PQ through SKY+ on my 42" Kuro was exceptional, now the SD PQ is just ok and the HD is very nice but certainly not the WOW factor I hoped for on a Kuro, using ******** D65 settings on input3 (input1 wont show a picture for some reason:confused: ) and its a Samsung HD box out of interest.
    Maybe it takes getting used to?

    P.S very surprised at some HD channels that when you press 'i' it says its not in HD............weird:eek:
     
  2. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    What doesn't display 'HD', isn't in HD........what's weird about that :confused:

    You may need to enable HDMI 1 via HDMI control settings perhaps?
     
  3. mattyboy_72

    mattyboy_72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +22
    Save yourself the tenner then and cancel. I for one think it's great.:thumbsup:
     
  4. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +274
    I really don't get how people can be underwhelmed by the lack of WOW factor. What are people expecting, 3D. Or it to come with a nubile young Swede who serves beer, pizza and other favours on demand?

    Pictures on anything shown in HD blow the nuts of anything in SD. Easy to do a quick comparison on a simulcast such as Foorball or Lost. PQ in SD isn't in the same league.

    Edit: BTW have you calibrated your TV settings and played around with the Sky HD settings?
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  5. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    I love the flow of writing here ..... :rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:
     
  6. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +274
    Quite intentional.

    Also gives me a great idea for Sky. Perhaps Sky could offer the HD service with the Swede included. Given, such premium service would attract a greater fee. Then to placate everyone - those who think it's great and those who think it not so great - they could employ the strapline 'Sky HD - It Really Sucks'.

    B
     
  7. JH4

    JH4
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +299
    Maybe it's the TV that's the issue here. An HD signal into a modern 1080p Sony will blow your socks off, I believe.
    I'm still trying to find them behind the sofa.. !
     
  8. markfawcett

    markfawcett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Had Sky HD installed today and think it's great.

    The football is a massive improvement, BBC HD looks phenomenal and HD movies look Blu-Ray quality.

    SD (ITV and C4 aside which were definitely better on Virgin) is good also.

    Samsung HD box on a Panasonic TH-42PZ82 plasma by the way.
     
  9. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    Im on a 50PZ80 and I think its great too , Cant wait for the ten james bond movies on anytime tomorrow.
     
  10. planetse

    planetse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +128
    Each to their own, some people still prefer UHF TV on their CRT screen.
    Not sounding cynical but would you not find SD on a HD box a little disappointing, is the HD box showing a less a quality picture than your Sky+ box was? Don’t think so; more a case not you have a taste of HD, SD looks poor on any box, TV, Freesat anything that is not in HD.

    You’re stuck with it now for twelve month, so you may get used to it after this period. Hopefully these threads about Sky+ HD not being what was expected lead to loads of preorders being canceled, freeing up the boxes and engineers to those on the long waiting list.

    :devil:
     
  11. kenedin

    kenedin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +312
    Almost Shakespearian, as it happens. " Is this HD which I see before me, the remote toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee. I have HD not, and yet I YEARN to see thee still.":D:D

    The Scottish Play!!!
     
  12. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    As someone who was underwhelmed by HD from Sky on a Sony 40" W2000 but went on to Sony W4500 where every blade of grass was fabulous I have to say my opinion is that these tv panels do vary

    I really didn't give tuppence for hd in the last set. This one is fantabulous

    Not the problem of the signal being transmitted
     
  13. nikonuser11

    nikonuser11
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +874
    well whats weird about that is that its the HD channel not displaying HD, thats like SKY Sports not displaying sports:eek:

    anyway all points taken, you guys are absolutely blown away by a nice picture, my PQ was already very nice so the step 'up' to HD possibly wasnt such a big leap as yours was, each to their own and again its just my opinion
     
  14. hilly10

    hilly10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cannock
    Ratings:
    +42
    The movies are bluray qualtity just wish the sound was. I have Spiderman 3 on bluray just had a glance at it on Movie Channel HD the picture i thought was brilliant,but the sound was a bit of a let down after DD TrueHD on bluray. But I did half expect it. Still Sky movies HD is by far the best channel for me after Everton on Sky sports 1,2,or3:thumbsup:
     
  15. nikonuser11

    nikonuser11
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +874
    heres a thought, the engineer said it was impossible for anyone to get 100% signal strenght and quality, my SKY+ signal bar was about 75%, however the HD box just shows two completely filled out bars, now is that 100% (impossible apparently) or is it not displaying properly?
     
  16. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    I'm with you on SD certainly. I have a Pio 436XDE and one thing the Pioneer range do is scale very very well. My old Sky+ Pace V2 box via RGB Scart I believe gives a better picture than SD over HDMI from my new Amstrad HD box. Either upscaled or not the output of the old V2 box is better. There are more jaggies amd more edge noise with the Amstrad. I might do an A-B comparison as a test but I am disappointed that its not as good on SD which is what we mainly watch.

    HD however does look good but then have being watching Blu-Ray and Media Centre so its more of the same. I guess we already had the Wow back then.
     
  17. DJ Dave

    DJ Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Danbury, Essex
    Ratings:
    +50
    I have the same plasma.

    What settings are you running now? (after running in of course).

    Just the brightness and contrast etc...not all the other detail. :D (unless you want to). :devil:
     
  18. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    Erm I think I went on some recommended specs a while ago that seemed to agree with the test patterns and stuff I used. I can't remember exactly and the missus is watching something, so it would not go down well if I interrupted :cool:

    Think it was +25 Contrast -3 to -5 Brightness but that's a guess. I know default was +40 for contrast.

    Have you got HD and if so what do you think?
     
  19. DJ Dave

    DJ Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Danbury, Essex
    Ratings:
    +50
    I do have HD.

    I'm still using running in settings even after 3 years. :eek:

    The PQ is excellent on BBC HD and Sky Sports but you have to realise that HD only really comes alive in brightish conditions.

    The rugby on BBC today looked average whereas the cricket was pretty sharp. Get a very good Blu Ray picture via the PS3 which sounds frightningly good with my new Earforce X4 Dolby Digital cordless headphones.

    The PQ of Sky HD films is good but the DD sound is average in my view. Blu ray wins hands down overall.

    The contrast level at 40 (default for "Dynamic") is a total no-no on our screen (as you probaly know) :nono:

    Dynamic sends you plasma into an early grave.

    It's about time I upped the settings but I feel I'm gonna need someone professional to do it as I have a 3 storey house and the lounge is in the basement which makes the lighting in there a bit random.

    I'm after a 50" Pioneer Kuro soon with the LX01 sound system.

    TLC seem to have a decent offer on with that set up. :thumbsup:
     
  20. 6022tivo

    6022tivo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +80
    Guys, I have a pio 505xde

    sky HD on order

    Used a bush freesat HD the other day using my media boxes HDMI input for the first time. HD was great.
    SD was blocky.. Terrible..

    I am assuming it was the SD output from the bush box...

    I hope it is not that crap over HDMI on the SKY HD box, otherwise it will be going back.
     
  21. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    That's the sort of logic that is perfectly correct but is way beyond Sky's understanding, and beyond most contributors' here too.:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...