I'm after a cheap and cheerful camcorder!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Daniel B, Jan 1, 2007.

1. Daniel B

Daniel B
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello peeps,
    newbie here :hiya:

I have decided I want a camcorder, and my main reason is that we will soon be leaving our very first house, and I want to be able to look back in years to come - sentimental I know, but that's just me.

Now I gather that Mini DV is the budget way to go, and afte spending the last few days doing some research, had narrowed it down to:

Sony HC35E (Amazon £201) 20X Zoom, remote, docking station, decent lens
    JVC GRD340 (Jessops etc for £150) 32X Zoom, very cheap

A new contender has appeared, and I think this one has a remote that seems desirable, it's the:

Samsung VPD453 (£129.99 from Play) only 10X Zoom, but I think on the samsung website it seems to suggest it has a remote.

The other thing that appealed, is that on one of the Sony reviews, it said you HAD to use a firewire cable to get decent quality footage off onto your pc to edit - alas I only have a laptop, which has no firewire port, I have researched, and can get a cable and PCMCIA card for about £15 all in, so that's not too bad.

The reviews of the cheapy cheap samsung above seem to suggest that you can get the footage off just using the USB conection, which is obviously another £15 saved.

What do people think, is there anything else I should be thinking of?

I need to order it fairly soon, as we may be out of here by early Feb....

Thanks in advance

Dan

2. redsox_mark

redsox_mark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +620
    I don't know that specific Samsung model, but I've yet to see a good Samsung camcorder.

Either the Sony or the JVC is fine. For cheap camcorders I like Canon. You can get a M890 or MV901 for well under £200. Neither comes with a remote, the MV960 does (available for around £235).