Im about to buy the Panasonic TH-42PWD6. Hopefully some different questions for once

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by Craigt, May 2, 2004.

  1. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all. Ive just started to think about getting a 42" plasma screen, and after having a good look through these boards I think I have finally settled on the Panasonic TH-42PWD6 in silver due to the praise it seems to get.

    Anyway I found most of the answers I was looking for by reading through the forum and I know how you guys hate getting asked the same things again and again, however I have a few questions which I havent seen mentioned before.

    Over at Av-Sales (http://www.av-sales.com/plasma/html/panasonic_th-42pw6b_plasma.html) they have this offer. Now due to my limited finances at the moment Im happy to add component outputs later on should I need them. With this offer you get one scart terminal board, wall mounting bracket, and the Quintro scart switcher. Does this seem like a good price as Ive heard AV-Sales are very good.

    Anyway these are my questions:

    1) I have Sky+, a DVD player, an XBox, a PS2, and a Gamecube. Will these all happily connect to the Quintro and how good is it at handling them?

    2) Is there any picture quality loss by using a device such as the Quintro?

    3) I will have all of the above devices connected to a DTS/5.1 surround sound amp just as I do now with my current TV. Am I likely to have any problems or see any lip synch issues with it set up in this way? Im assuming that nothing would really change in this area right?

    4) I am planning on mounting it on the wall above the fireplace. Would there be any problems with heat when the fire is on? This is pretty important as this is the only place I can mount the plasma.

    5) Is the manual for this particular model online?

    And thats about it. Its there anything I might have missed or not considered as obviously this is a very important purchase and I may have missed something glaringly essential.

    I know I could be getting better picture quality by adding the relevant boards but as I said, money is limited so Im just trying to get up and running with the whole thing.

    Anyway I appologise if Ive said anything stupid or ignorant, but your advice is very important because as I said, Im completely new to the world of plasma :confused:
     
  2. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    #s 1 & 2 can only go off what I've read, it should handle them fine and quality loss is minimal to none.

    #3 Depends, can your amp delay all channels if need be?

    #4 Measure the temp above the fireplace with a full roaring fire going -- 40c max so I would figure 35c is safe over the fireplace)

    #5 a quick google yielded: http://www.panasonic.fr/videopro/manuels_op/user-plasmas6.pdf
     
  3. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm not sure if my amp can delay chanels. Never heard of this. Would the manual tell me?

    Also is this likely to be much of an issue? :(

    Thanks for the info and the manual though :smashin:
     
  4. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lip sync is often down to the individual(s) eyes ... you should be ok but yes if your amp supports channel delay the manual should mention it
     
  5. Harry1265

    Harry1265
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Craigt, I've been going through a similair process as yourself and found Chachi's input really helpful(thanks Chachi).
    I did a search on the switchbox and came across this which may be a bit basic if you're fluent with all this techno stuff but I found it quite useful.

    http://www.whatvideotv.com/articles...com/articles/general/200105_connections.shtml

    I guess the only drawback with the advertised set-up for myself is connecting the screen via a scart will mean quite a wide conduit passing through the wall through which the lead can be fed.
     
  6. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the article, it was useful :smashin:

    With regards to the scart lead. Well there will only be that and the power cable running from the screen for now, so I plan to have some white flexi hose to house the two cables. The amp and DVD player etc will be below and to the left of the screen so hopefully the cable will barely be noticable.
     
  7. SNICK

    SNICK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    I was really disappointed with a Quintro i had a few month back. found that the scarts kept falling out the back of the unit. Ended up taking it back and getting a refund.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Bear in mind

    1. scart is the softest/weakest on the pw6
    2. scart likes a short cable. I know u can buy 5m ones etc, but I don't use them for plasma, they need the best. U need to go YUV for a longer run.
     
  9. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmmm. But is SCART on a plasma the same as scart on a good 'normal' TV or is it better/worse?
     
  10. macdaddy

    macdaddy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Being a newbie a few weeks back, I like you went for the scart option as basically that's what I "knew" to be honest I don't think it's any better or worse using scart on a plasma as on a "normal" TV but because the plasma is so much bigger it does tend to show up the imperfections a lot more. That's why you'll want to find an alternative to Scart.

    It's just a question of how long it takes for you to "do it"!!
    (I lasted 2 weeks!)
     
  11. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha I doubt I'll be far behind you mate.

    By the way are you happy with the Panny? worth the money?
     
  12. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha I doubt I'll be far behind you mate.

    By the way are you happy with the Panny? worth the money?
     
  13. Harry1265

    Harry1265
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With all that's said about scart being the "weakest" link, isn't a bit odd that a specialist retailer should package this up with a plasma screen?
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Odd it might be, but in the end you have to give the customer what they want, which is not always what's best for them. Offering this package does not detract from A-V sales' reputation, they are after all supplying a screen with RGB and component inputs, you can use the VGA port as YUV (component) in the case of the PW6, and the scart does get you up and running immediately. Very useful in fact for seeing the menus on such things as DVD players, sky etc where RGB may not be enabled, even component output has to be switched on in quite a few DVD players. No composite input = no menu. I always carry a scart board to bung in, even if I'm not leaving it behind.
     
  15. horseflesh

    horseflesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +52
    Sorry to butt in like this but Martin, I haven't been in work since lunch hour Friday and probably won't be back until Thursday, so if you've replied to my query could you forward it to my home e-mail address; [email protected]

    Thanks.
     
  16. Harry1265

    Harry1265
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do have a point MAW and like you say customer catering. I guess its a bit confusing when you start researching especially as this piece of kit is quite expensive and you do want it to give you good viewing for some time to come.

    So far with the forums help I've got the following in mind:

    Panasonic TH-42PWD6
    TY-42TM6Y panel
    Freeview box

    Have existing DVD, A/V amp,VCR
    I haven't managed to work out what cables are needed and how they will all connect though.
    Do my DVD and Amp need certain outputs for them to work best with this set-up? The Amp is on old Sherwood(R-925RDS) and the DVD a SAmsung (DVD-907), both of which I may upgrade.

    Any thoughts/advice?
     
  17. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,337
    CraigT

    Going into a TH-42PW6B via SCART is not as sharp I find as going in as RGB or YUV.

    The Quintro+ is an OK SCART switch and whilst not flawless is as good as you get for sub £100.00.

    If you can live without auto wide screen switching and I see you don't have a PC on your Source list I'd suggest the following:

    SKY+ RGB to Quintro
    DVD RGB to Quintro
    X-Box RGB to Quintro
    PS2 RGB to Quintro
    GameCube RGB to Quintro

    Quintro RGB out to JS Technology RGB2VGA or RGB2YUV converter.

    JS Technology RGB converter to Plasma HD15 (either converter will work with the HD15 input on the Plasma and you wont need any Video boards in the Display).

    The RGB2VGA converter is slightly shaper than the RGB2YUV converter - though the RGB2YUV may be a better bet in the long run if you were considering a move to all YUV with a Progressive Scan DVD or a better external switch or AV Receiver with YUV switching.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  18. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some really useful advice there. Cheers mate.

    BTW are these terminal boards difficult to install after buying the plasma or do they just slot in and screw in?

    Thanks again :smashin:
     
  19. chachi

    chachi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    slot in, firmly seat/snap into place and four screws, 5 min job
     
  20. Craigt

    Craigt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah superb!
     
  21. rosbif

    rosbif
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Far, far away
    Ratings:
    +0
    Craig,

    Bought that deal from Av-sales just last October - and haven't looked back! Great company to deal with and I must about I have no complaints at all about the picture quality with SCART feeding into the Plasma. The only real complaint is how shocking the football looks on ITV through SKY+ - colours all over the place and grainy!

    Only thing I haven't worked out is recording SKY+ onto video - some setup on the QUINTRO that I haven't worked out yet. But then how often do you need to copy from HD to video?

    Other factor was the wife one - the quintro box being auto switching really does mean the setup is wife friendly...!!
     
  22. hearts

    hearts

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi m8 so was this the best price around? What was the total cost of your system?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice