1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm a novice, help me set up my new Sub.

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by monkeyWRENCH, Sep 14, 2002.

1. monkeyWRENCH

monkeyWRENCH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +36
    I just bought the MJ Acoustics Pro 50 and I have no idea on how to set it up properly to get the best sound out of it.

Currently, all my speakers are set to 'small' on my 1802, and on the back of the sub, there is a 'freq' dial ranging from 40Hz to 240Hz (LFE)... this is currently sitting at the "12 O'clock" position. Is that OK?

My front speakers are 8.3's (frequency response 40Hz - 20kHz)

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Jase

Jase

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +827
    Hi

If you have all speakers set to small, all bass to sub, set the crossover on the sub to maximum (240Hz). Your amp will be controlling the cutoff to the speakers. Try the sub volume set to around a third and adjust to your taste via the amp (SW channel). Also play around with the Phase setting to see which is best.

If you have a Sound Meter then balance all your channels to 75db, if you don´t, you´ll have to do it by ear.

Another alternative would be to set the Front Left & Right speakers to Large, all others to Small and bass to LFE/MAIN. Then set the crossover on the sub to around 40-50hz.

See which settings give you the best results.:)

3. monkeyWRENCH

monkeyWRENCH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thanks, Jase! I'll have a play around with the settings you've suggested. :clown:

4. Dom H

Dom H

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's how I setup my Pro50.

Set all speakers to small with an 80Hz x-over. Adjust the subs freq dial to 240Hz (this removes the subs xover relying on the amps setting) Set the phase to the 12 oclock position.