1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Idiots guide to cables, please?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by wafc, Jul 23, 2005.

1. wafc

wafc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    Would someone be so kind as to give me an idiots guide to cables please (bit of a noob here!).

I am intending on buying a 26" lcd screen (possibly Samsung) and I normally connect my appliances (dvd, sky dig etc) through Scart but I am unsure if I should be connecting via a different way for a better picture? (if I have the connections that is!)

Can someone please explain the difference of Scart, RGB Scart, Component, Composite, S Video etc and what they look like?

I am aware of what Scart is and I think im right in saying composite is the 3 phono plugs (red, white, yellow)?

Any assitance would be gratefully accepted! :D

2. clarky78

clarky78

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +38
    Your right, composite is the yellow plug :) And the worst feed. So avoid that at all costs. S-video is the next best option, followed by RGB and then best of the analogue bunch is composite, which incidentaly uses Red, Green and blue phono plugs.

S-Video looks like a round jack with 8 pins? i think.
    Composite, as you say is the yellow phono jack, the red and white are left and right audio.
    Component is made of 3 phono plugs colour coded Red, Green and Blue.
    Scart you already know :)
    RGB can be carried down a scart or phono cables. more commonly scart.

Scarts can be fully wired to except any of the above configurations, though most commonly carry RGB signals from DVD's etc.

After this are the digital connections of DVI and HDMI, which are arguably better than component. Arguably depending who you ask!

Basically if you can, you a digi connection or component, if not use RGB.

3. Nic Rhodes

Nic Rhodes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: