Idiots guide - Installing Ubuntu on a zBox AD02?

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by PerfectBlue97, Jan 11, 2012.

1. PerfectBlue97

PerfectBlue97

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    I'm looking to get a zBox AD02 bare bones system to use as a media player.

I'm planning on installing Ubuntu on it but while I have lots of experience building and installing Windows PCS, I have almost 0 experience with Linux (One basic install, that's it).

Is there an idiots guide for the zBox AD02?

I've seen a few websites with general Ubuntu installation instructions and they all look OK, right up until they start talking about using the command line interface to install hardware drivers (Windows is pretty much just point and click for this). So I'd appreciate something that was specific to this model of PC, that tells me how to do it in nice simple steps that anybody can use, no matter how dense.

I'm afraid that unless it tells you exactly what to type, and exactly where, I'm going to struggle.

DOS, I can handle, but Linux is all Greek to me at the moment.

2. bubblegum57

bubblegum57

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +292
    With most linux distro's there is a live cd, run that, then on the desktop, there will probably be an icon to do a install to the hard drive. As, for drivers, try the live cd to see if audio etc works.

3. PerfectBlue97

PerfectBlue97

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    I was hoping for something aimed at a bigger idiot's level.

4. bubblegum57

bubblegum57

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +292
    Trust me, it is easy peasey.

About Mythbuntu | Mythbuntu is specifically for Media playback

It doesn't seem to have a Live cd option, But, I think you can download the iso, boot from it, then install, it will do the disk partitioning etc.

Ubuntu does, https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCD