1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Identification question...

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by UrbanT, Jul 15, 2004.

  1. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,843
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    If you were to buy a used Dual Processor, is there a physical way of telling it apart from an SP. Stickers or badges aside, are there any differences between the cases or front or back panels?
     
  2. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The OSD layout on the first page is different and you will also be able to spot the extra boards through the vents.

    Factory units have 'THX Ultra 2' and the rede LEDs have the text:

    thx surr ex

    dts-es

    dts 96/24

    and also you will see a little 'jaws 2' symbol on the bottom left (for want of a better description)
     
  3. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,843
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Thanks for the thoughts. The unit won't be turned on, otherwise TMREQ in the OSD would be a giveaway. Also not sure about what boards are in a normal Tag, to see the difference. Perhaps the red led might help.

    If anyone has any other thoughts?
     
  4. sijones

    sijones
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    You could check the serial no. with the TAG helpdesk. They should be able to tell you if it is an SP or DP.

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  5. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,843
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Unfortunately I won't have it in time :(
     
  6. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    look through the top vent with the unit facing you and look for a raised board to ward the centre / front of the unit with 'Sharc' & 'Analog Devices' written on a chip.
     
  7. sijones

    sijones
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    You could also ask the seller for any receipts they have for the unit. It should be obvious from the receipt what product it is and may also include the serial no. so you can match the receipt to the unit.

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  8. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,843
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Thats what I'm looking for, I'll check when I see it :)
     
  9. canavan

    canavan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    <i>look through the top vent with the unit facing you and look for a raised board to ward the centre / front of the unit with 'Sharc' & 'Analog Devices' written on a chip.</i>

    My single processor AV32R with serial number 479 has a raised board with one DSP on it, so that's not yet a sign for a DP. You'll have to read the chip type number on the SHARC (or count them). If it's a ADSP-21065L, it's SP, if you can see an ADSP-21161 or two, it's a DP. Take a flashlight/torch to read it. The 21065 is about 1 inch square the DP DSPs occupy only a quarter of the space each.
     
  10. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,843
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Thanks Canavan, I picked it up last week and all is well :thumbsup:
     
  11. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well canavan, I think since yesterday you have DP too
     
  12. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Its quite easy to tell the difference, the SP has small triangular vents on top where as the DP has long rectangular vents.
     
  13. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really, I saw few SP with big vents, but most of them have 4 smal vents, you're right there.
     
  14. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I suppose asking to listen to the unit before you part with the money (and therefore see the OSD) would be a good idea if at all possible :D
     
  15. maximus_de

    maximus_de
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Schwalmtal/Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    i own a SP with the smaller triangular vents on the top.
    Is it possible to stay with this type of top after the upgrade to the DP ?

    Greetings Alfredo
     
  16. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14

    No, due to the new daughter board with dual 21161N SHARCS and an increased power supply, the DP generates considerably more heat than the SP and therefore needs to be able to breath :thumbsup:
     
  17. maximus_de

    maximus_de
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Schwalmtal/Germany
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Thunder,

    thanks for your quick answer. We have here some DP owners around, but i noticed
    that my Top was glossy and the other ones not.

    But its no secret the AV likes it warm even when he was turnd of (by rc).

    Greeting Alfredo
     

Share This Page

Loading...