1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ideal VOIP combination

Discussion in 'General Tech & Gadget Forums' started by thebyp, Aug 12, 2005.

1. thebyp

thebyp
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all.

I am quite new to this VOIP lark, which is in itself a wee bit depressing as i used to be a firm early adopter! However, the advent of a good lady and Ikea landing not to far away seem to have put pay to that!! :p

Anywho, i digress.

Since i want to get this VOIP thing 'family member' friendly i was wondering if the following configuration was possible, or at least something close.

What i would like is a little box which i could plug directly into my router (via ethernet), which is in turn perminantly connected to the internet, which would act as a bridge between my regular PSTN phone and the VOIP connection.

Now i have seen these around (Vonage seems to give them out for free), but what they don't seem to be able to do is to allow you to have a box which connects to the ethernet connection, and to the regular BT socket.

SO in effect what you would have would be a box which would allow you to make calls on the regular BT system when you wanted, or use the VOIP as appropriate, perhaps by pressing the star key or the like.

I have come across USB boxes that seem to do this (with varrying success) but nothing that can directly plug into the ethernet connection.

any views or suggestions?

Thanks all.

2. dejongj

dejongj
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,481