Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Ideal HCPC Specification

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Dibble, Jul 13, 2003.

1. Dibble

Dibble

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking to build my first HCPC. As there is quite a bit of cash involved I would like to take some advice from the forum.

I would like the system to be capable of TV / Video / Music. I would realy like to mount the PC away from the viewing area, with a remote control reciever in the viewing area.

The output from the system will be to a projector, I don't know which as yet.

Any way please don't hold back I have little knowledge of HCPC. Any information from motherboard / CPU / DVD etc... etc..

Thanks in Advance.......

2. Peter Parker

Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,721
    My htpc is a very cheap affair, but you can spend as much as you like on it. :)

I'm using an ECS K7S5A mobo which is around £30. The Pro version is even less at www.ebuyer.com (I have one in my main pc). Don't get any older mobos with VIA chipsets.

Graphics card can be a Radeon VE (with DVI) which can be bought for less than £30. If you want to play games, you'll need a 7500 or better at least.

A duron 950 is enough for just DVD platback, and 1300s can be bought for around £25. For DScaler 4 you may want something like a 2400+ for £67.

Cases start from around £15, but you can get something more AV like from around £100: http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/product.php?subcat=1