Question Ideal AVR for my needs? First purchase.

radioektyf

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi guys.

I'm a first time buyer who'd like to upgrade his audio setup. I've been using the below soundbar for nearly 2 years, but I recently moved into a new flat and came to a conclusion I really need some nice speakers with a decent mid range and just a better overall sound quality. I've pretty much made my mind up on getting a pair of Q Acoustics 3050 (original version) as they seem to offer an incredible value for money at the moment (£329), they sound lovely (my friend owns a pair) and their musical performance will matter to me.
As you can see from the attached floorplan, the living room is an open plan into the kitchen which makes the room rather big - the dotted line is the imaginary border from which the measurements for each area start. I hope a couple of QA 3050s will fill the room nicely though, there is enough space at either side of the TV for them.

What would be the ideal receiver under £500 to power them?

Typical usage (varies each month to be honest):
  • 30% TV shows (Netflix, Freeview, BBC iPlayer)
  • 30% Music (mainly hard EDM off YouTube, Spotify, Bluetooth)
  • 20% Gaming (some weeks can be up to 50%)
  • 20% Movies (Blu-ray, Netflix)
So far, I've shortlisted the following models after hours of reading forums and reviews:
Sony STRDN1080 (Black) (hot favourite for me)
Marantz NR1510 (Black)
Yamaha RXV4A (Black)
Denon AVR-X2700H (Black) (too expensive but still tempting thanks to its great reviews)