I'd like to buy a 'basic' DVD recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Chibouk, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. Chibouk

    Chibouk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darkest Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +10
    I currently have a Panasonic DMR-ES10, but the drive unit has gone and it won't read disks anymore. I only use it to record things from my Sky+ box, so don't need anything fancy.

    I want to replace it, but don't know what to go for. Any suggestions for a relatively cheap replacement? The only stipulation is that it uses DVD -Rs and not +Rs, as I have a lot of -Rs left over.

    Any help appreciated. :)
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,288
    I would definately go for one with a hard disk to make copying from the Sky+ box easier.
     
  3. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,098
    I second John's suggestion.

    Also , there really isn't such a thing as a 'basic' DVD recorder. Once the basic technology has been provided, all the 'features' are relatively cheap to bolt-on, so they are always attached.
     
  4. Chibouk

    Chibouk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darkest Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for the advice so far.

    Why would a hard disk make thing easier? Would it allow me to view Sky TV while I was backing up a programme for example? At the moment I have to watch what I am recording, which isn't always convenient.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,288
    Whenever you transfer stuff from Sky+ you have to watch what you are copying. I therefore usually wait until I have 6 or 8 hours worth of programs to copy and set them going overnight or at a time when I know I won't want to watch anything else on Sky. If you are recording to a 2 hour DVD then you can't do this.
    It's much easier to edit content on the hdd of the dvd recorder and then transfer it to DVD - you could then make 2 copies of the same recording very easily if you wish to make a secure backup copy.
     
  6. JimmyCobra

    JimmyCobra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    OLDHAM
    Ratings:
    +8
  7. Chibouk

    Chibouk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Darkest Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks JohnG.... that makes perfect sense. I'm buying a second hand Pioneer off another forum to be going on with. I record stuff off TV for use in work (I'm a teacher), so I need something to use in the meantime.

    I'm going to save up a bit more cash and then buy one with a hard-drive.

    Thanks again for the good advice. :)

    (Thanks Jimmy too. :) )
     

Share This Page

Loading...