Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

IAG Helpdesk and Service Info

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Burgy100, Sep 13, 2004.

  1. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi All

    Have 2 bits of equipment that have gone to the wall, I think most people know that Barry at the helpdesk is still on holiday and will not be back for another week. It appears he is the only person to talk to for TMA products.

    Current leadtimes for repairs/upgrades are now between 5-6 weeks. They will honour the 2 year back to factory warranty, although all new products sold will only come with 1 year warranty. Not Good!!

    On the upside, whilst my 2 beloved bits of kit are away, Sevenoaks will sort me out some pieces of kit to get me by. Nice to know dealers do care and are sympathetic towards their customers :clap:

    Steve
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +227
    Steve

    Let us know how you get on and what the service is like ;)
     
  3. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Steve,

    My AV192R has gone unserviceable, I am not looking forward to six to eight weeks without it. Unfortunately my dealer from whom I purchased the equipment, no longer sells them! Do you know if they still have the 'Home pick up service?'

    In the absence of the Helpdesk, maybe someone has some ideas on the symptons. The problems seemed to start when I started turning the system OFF, when I was not using it, as it did seem to be running warm on Standby during these warm summer days. When the power was re applied, it went through the Self Test procedure, and then Error 102 came up in the display. The FM tuner continued to play, but there was no Text and the remote didn't work. Turn off for 60 seconds, seemed to work for a while, but now, apart from a click when it is switched on, there is nothing, no lights, display etc.. Fuses, power lead supply are all A-OK. There seem to be a lot of similar faults on the Forum, mostly with older AV32Rs, my processor is only 13 months old!


    Barry
     
  4. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Barry,

    If the thing isn't starting up at all then that hints that the 5 volt rail has failed, I suspect the plug-in rectifier card has gone faulty. If your local dealer has a basic service dept then this can be easily changed over as it doesn't require any specialist knowledge or test equipment. This card can also induce error 102's when the 3v3 rail starts to get cranky.

    Best bet is have a word with IAG and your local (ex) dealer.
     
  5. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Stevsky.

    Many thanks, will follow it up tomorrow.

    Barry
     
  6. Baracuda

    Baracuda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Barry

    My AV192R is back with IAG, for exactly the same symptoms you have mentioned. I guess I have 5 or 6 weeks to wait before I get the report to know exactly the problems (it has been away 3 weeks so far). A point to note is that it is the same age.

    When I spoke to IAG regarding the error 102, they asked me who my dealer was as they needed to send 'some replacement boards'. The dealer not being qualified to perform a field install sent it back to IAG.

    Hope you manage to get it sorted, if mine comes back in a short time I will post information regarding the remedial action taken by IAG.

    Regards.
     
  7. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

    I will keep people posted. Both DVD and AV Processor being returned to IAG this Friday. I think Barry on the helpdesk has his work cut out when he comes back from his hols on Mon

    Steve
     
  8. rob@rar.org.uk

    rob@rar.org.uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    My DVD32R developed a fault recently and had to go back for a repair. It took exactly four weeks from the Home Collection to it being delivered back to me last week. Maybe the 5-6 weeks estimate is on the conservative side?

    Regards

    Rob
     
  9. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    That sounds more like it. What was the fault, just curious?
     
  10. Burgy100

    Burgy100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Rob,

    4 Weeks does sound better, although Carol (Person on helpdesk while Barry is on holiday) explained the reason for the extended delay is they have moved buildings TWICE in the last 6 months

    Steve
     
  11. rob@rar.org.uk

    rob@rar.org.uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not entirely sure, but I was told by the HelpDesk that the Pantera chip had failed and needed replacing. Apparently that's an unusual fault.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  12. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Most unusual I'd think......What were the symptoms? Just adding knowledge if you would endulge me.
     
  13. jbm007

    jbm007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sent a email 1 week ago to the help desk. Is Carol answering emails, or are we waiting for Barry to come back.
     
  14. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Guys,

    If you're having problems with getting replies from the helpdesk via email then give IAG a call. I know from my days at TMA there were numerous issues on why a customers email didn't get to it's destination, from over zealous spam filters to bad server configs.

    For those in the UK try: 0845 4580011
    Elsewhere do the international code for UK then 1480 447700

    Happy dialing!
     
  15. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried the international number but only reached an answering machine with instructions of the type: "If you want repairs press 1". At the end of the pressing it told me to phone another number, i.e., several number which in 30 seconds you can not memorize.
     
  16. rob@rar.org.uk

    rob@rar.org.uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hampton, Southwest London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't remember exactly, but I think initally the sound dropped out then the video signal stopped, then the machine entered standby. For a couple of hours I could power it back up, only for the systeoms to reappear after a few minutes. The next day (after I went to bed in disgust!) it wouldn't power up properly, and at that point I called the Helpdesk.

    Happily all is well now :)

    Regards

    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice