Question I1 Pro Purchase Query (calibration)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Buckster, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    would like to (finally) calibrate my 60ZT60 Panasonic

    plus a number of other LCDs in the house

    was thinking of buying an I1 Pro and using free software HCFR - but should I fork out the extra and buy the Chromapure calibrated version of the I1 Pro ?

    or is there no benefit if I'm not using the Chromapure software ?

    £200 odd is on the limit for what I'd like to pay really - so don't want to pay £100 + on top for software etc

    my ZT is pretty good out of box, but my previous Plasma was calibrated and I did like the lovely linear picture it gave

    thanks for any advice
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
    OK some confusion here. There is no chromapure calibrated version of an i1Pro. i1Pro is a spectrophotometer and doesn't need to be calibrated as such. I suspect you are talking about an i1DisplayPro....which is a different thing. It is a coloromiter. I'd suggest that you do not need a special modified version for what you want to do. If you are just starting to try to do self calibration then an i1DisplayPro and HCFR or the free version of Lightspace by Lightillusion are good places to start
     
  3. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    thanks very much for the reply Gordon - much appreciated

    would I be right in thinking you can only but the retail I1DisplayPro ?

    I saw reference on avsforum to Lightspace only working with the OEM version - but can't find anywhere that actually sells that version

    cheers
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
    There is a "hack" .dll file you can use to get retail i1DisplayPros working with Lightspace. So you are not limited to OEM version
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
  6. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    thanks Gordon - much appreciated

    I1 Display 3 arrived today - and after a bit of faff with HTPC and HCFR settings - ok well most of afternoon and some of morning !! - have performed an initial cal :)

    give or take the actual accuracy of the I1 - managed to get my gamma and greyscale to very closely track the applicable curves/flat line, and delta Es of average 1.5 for the colours

    when my headache has gone I might tweak further

    then only another 3 displays in the house to do - lol ! :)
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
  8. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    7,248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +370
    I'm sure the Pros can do a much better job

    but for me its good enough :) I'm an electronic engineer by trade so I like tweaking

    XT32 does my head in a bit as not enough tweakability
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice