I Working/living in MIlton Keynes, Opinions please.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by blasted, Apr 24, 2009.

1. blasted

blasted

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +132
    I’ve just been told that my job and those of another couple of thousand people will be moving to Milton Keynes in about 2 year’s time. I would like to know other peoples opinions about the area, prospects, commuting and if you have done a similar thing yourself.

My own circumstances are. I currently live in the east midlands. I own a three bed detached house and I’m near my family and friends. I don’t have a wife, partner or children and am coming to the end of a BEng degree in civil engineering, my background is mechanical engineering, but I want to build things out of concrete. I’m 33 years old.

A lot of people are not going to be moving to Milton Keynes, which means a lot of job opportunities; this also means a chance of being able to move into a civil engineering/project management department. If I’m prepared to move I could change job, which would allow me to continue study, possibly for a masters and onto Chartership.

I don’t think I would be able to afford a detached house in Milton Keynes, I’m not looking for size, I just prefer not to be bolted to my neighbours. If this the case; are there areas where I could get a cheap detached? I don’t like the idea of buying a flat.

I have been looking at possible commuting distances. Rugby for example is commutable by train and the houses are cheaper. I get the impression Milton Keynes is a bit cold. As I don’t have family there or friends and I feel it would be a pretty lonely experience.