1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I want to join the club....

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by missyM, Sep 26, 2004.

1. missyM

missyM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you can help 'break' me into this exclusive club. I am in the market for a new sub, but I want it to be my FINAL purchase. I say that, as if I been buying subs for years, but the truth is that I am relatively new to the whole 'home cinema'concept, but what I want to avoid the costly route of buying inferior products only to wish and eventually upgrade them in the future. So I want the biggest and baddest sub going and by all accounts I have a choice between say an SVS (PB2+)or the monster that is DD-18.

Since this is an independent forum, lets talk about the DD-18. My current setup comprises of Denon AV2803, Phillips plasma (32"),Kef Q5 upfront and Kef Q1 for the rear channels. My listening room is approx 14x10. So the question is whether something as big as the DD-18 would integrate with my current set up? The thing that attracts me to this sub from what I've read is the fact that it has finesse as well as power. Its this delicate touch that I hope could blend in with a system like mine, but at the same time to have real punch for the big action movies.

Another question, is a sub like this too sophisticated for a beginner like me? What I mean is that you guys are always talking about Q levels, frequency response etc. I haven't a clue what you're talking about, but I do know I like real solid bass and I want something to last a lifetime. So the fact that I dont know the technical jargon or how to interpret your graphs, does that mean I won't be able to get the best from it? (since I wont know how to set it up).