1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I want DOS under WinXP

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Mr.The.Spoon, Oct 6, 2004.

  1. Mr.The.Spoon

    Mr.The.Spoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I'm a Londoner.
    Ratings:
    +13
    I found a website with a bunch of old games from the late 80s and early 90s (including Dig Dug, Populos, Mega-lo-mania...) but getting them to work under XP is a right pain.

    I'm half tempted to dig out my old copy of MS-DOS 6.2 and have a 2nd install.

    Anyone know a better way of doing this?
    Oh and if you want the website, I'll PM it to you.
     
  2. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
  3. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    have you tried using VDMSound? It gives DOS extra memory to run games as well as emulating sound via directsound, and mouse/joystick via directinput. You can get it HERE


    you may also need to get a speed capping program otherwise the game will run hundreds of times faster than it's meant to. Try something from HERE

    good luck!
     
  4. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +432
    XP / NT doesn't have DOS installed - so that might be where you are going wrong for a start ;)
    XP / NT cores use a command prompt ... but this is not DOS like in previous incarnations of WIN OS's - its purely a console for NT.

    Solutions:
    Emulator of some sort.
    Dual boot ( makeing sure that the partion / drive you want to put this on is a compatable File system ... ie not NTFS ) - make sure its also not on an SATA Hard drive etc ... as that will probably not be accessable to DOS ( don't quote me on it though )
    Make a boot floppy / boot cd for DOS and have one partion on your hard drive set up as MS DOS so you can store all the game binaries on it and run the OS from the floppy / CD.
     
  5. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,970
  6. Mr.The.Spoon

    Mr.The.Spoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I'm a Londoner.
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks for all the help. I'll be trying them soon. Unfortunately I've other computer problems right now. Just changed motherboards and am trying to solve a graphics card / sound card conflict that makes the WarHammer40K demo crash after 3-4mins of play.
    You would not believe the number of times I've played the same 3-4 mins as I try out different drivers and configurations.
     

Share This Page

Loading...