I thought that I knew what I wanted??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Marcus D, Dec 23, 2006.

1. Marcus D

Marcus D

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Decided or so I thought, to go for a panny panel monitor but am worried that if sky went breasts up (as has done several times before) or my home cinema packed in I will be without sound or picture ?

Can I get a tuner to go with a panel or am I best just getting a 'normal' plasma with built in tuner and speakers. The panel was favourite as without speakers it looked better and i liked the idea of using it with a pc. Can I easily connect a pc to a 'standard' set and are they much more expensive

Sorry for the dumb questions but Im new to this and dont want to spend a fortune and it not be right - the missus would kill me!

Thanks

Marcus

2. Dave

Dave
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    A freeview box can be used as a tuner and the panny panels are capable of accepting any old speakers.

You can plug a pc in to any plasma with the correct inputs. It doesn't have to be a panel.

Look at it like this, if your sky box breaks then you have to replace the sky box, if the internal tuner on the telly breaks you have to replace the telly.

It's also cheaper to go for a panel as you aren't paying for what you don't need. I went the panel route and couldn't be happier. The pq can also benefit as there's less processing going on.

At the end of the day you pay your money and take your chances but I'd never not buy a panel because it hasn't got speakers or a tuner built in. To me that's a positive thing.

3. Marcus D

Marcus D

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks mate, exactly what I wanted to hear and from a panel owner too. It totally amke sense now that you have said it. After having spent a fair wedge on a sony crt a few years back I guess I am just over nervous.