I think I know where those Olympic channels came from

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Trollslayer, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    24,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +9,764
    The past week or so some channels - FX HD for example - have definitely been lower quality to the point of seeing macro blocks on some scene transitions.
    Lets hope it returns to normal in a couple of days.
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Normality will be very welcome.:D
     
  3. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Nice example of "here's the bad news now for the good news"!
    The OP there got one thing right - the ceremony was fantastic - fantastically silly.:laugh:
     
  5. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Sky said they removed quite a lot of the Box Office channels but they're not all in HD so bandwidth has surely suffered somewhere.
     
  6. Ragnarok

    Ragnarok
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +142
    Sky freed up 9 transponders for them, and didn't touch any of there current HD transponders.

    just the HD channels here HD - Eutelsat 28A & Astra 1N/2A/2B at 28.2°E - LyngSat

    Most of the Olympic transponders have been turned off

    The blocking your seeing is the stat muxing on that transponder, on too many occasions not having enough bit to keep all channels macroblock free.
    The Problem is on that transponder Eurosport HD gets higher priority and was showing alot of action from the Olympics live. which can leave as few as 20mbit/s for E4, Sky Arts 2 and FX to share between 3 channels.

    I personally think 1 high bandwidth channel + 2 others tops per 42mbit/s transponder. That configuration which also plays often even worse havoc with discovery HD, Syfy HD and SBOHD1 with ESPN getting the lions share on that transponder. Discovery showing full Video frame rate material which needs more bandwidth often makes SBO HD1 and syfy run at incredibly low bitrates.

    On the whole the other channels are ok, but sky movies often have issues with noisy grainy films ( it's very hard to encode noise because it's unpredictable thus needs more bits) on more than 1 channel on the transponder at any 1 time which can screw up the picture for all channels on that transponder. Sky IMO should treat this premium content better too, even if 4 channels per transponder is acceptable most of the time.

    Still that relatively good compared to most providers on the continent.

    The other transponders tend to have a good balance of channels, and they all look decent 99% of the time source content permitting.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice