1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need SURROUND suggestion! Take a look!!!

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Niksa Svilicic, Aug 28, 2004.

  1. Niksa Svilicic

    Niksa Svilicic
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    undefined:clap: Hi!

    I have ARCAM DiVA a85 and I would like to have both - quality HI FI (stereo) system and Home Theater system (when I am in mood for movies). I suppose that I cannot have surround on my Arcam a85 so, I am about buying extra processor for surround sound.

    Could you please reccomend me best money/value processors or recivers for my system. I have to ask you about connections too ... I mean - after purchasing my ner surround processors how can I switch between HI FI (stereo) and HT mode without switching speakers cables from Arcam a85 to my new processor and vice versa.

    Thanx for your replies!!!!

    Niksa
    PS
    My speakers are: JMLab Electra 905, SUB JMLab SW 900, back B&W in-wall.
     
  2. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +68
    I'd like to know the answer to some of this too.
     
  3. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +101
    Why not just ditch the Arcam and go for a quality pre/pro with multi channel amp setup? All depends on your budget, but I can heartily recommend Rotel. The 1066 processor can be had at bargain prices now.
     
  4. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +68
    In general will a standard amp plus a processor be better than a dedicated multichannel amp for basic stereo?

    (assuming similair prices)
     
  5. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +101
    I guess it's a bit of a generalisation but probably, theoretically, you should get better performance from an equivalent priced stereo amp, it would seem logical. And given that the main front speakers do by far the majority of the work, why is it necessary to hook up rear speakers to outlandishly expensive amplification? However, my own view is that it doesn't cost an awful lot more for a manufacturer to shove 3 extra channels into the box. I do wonder however - I have a Rotel 1066 pre/pro and RMB985mk2 (5 channel) power amp feeding Dynaudio speakers (1.3mk2 at front - best speakers I've ever heard at any price) and I've lately been wondering if I'd gain any benefit from a supposedly more upmarket stereo amp just to drive the main speakers (specifically Quad 909). I guess I'll never know till I try!
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Welcome to the world of indecision!:)

    If you can find the answer let us all know.

    I've been trying to solve this one for years.:laugh:
     
  7. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +68
    Keiron,do you use a cd player or a dvd player for playing cd's?
     

Share This Page

Loading...