1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Need some REAL Advice !! Please HELP.

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by cominatcha, Sep 21, 2004.

1. cominatcha

cominatcha

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    :thumbsup: Hi Everyone - Im a Newbie and I got this Automation BUG !!

But I'm confused. :eek:

This is what I'm looking for OR to do !!

---------------------------------------

1)
    Lighting

....I have been looking into Lutron BUT its damn expensive - I have seen the Grafix eye solution and Lutron Homeworks - Whats the difference - anyone got a quick answer/has got it - used it ?

I have seen the Rako system - its RF based and looks good - anyone got it used it ?

I have also read about the ULTI "Clipsal Concept" - It looks really nice cosmetically BUT has anyone got that - used it ?

ANY RECOMMENDATIONS ??

2)
    IR Repeaters

I want to control all my AV/Lights etc - I think I need a IR Learning remote, and a IR repeater (Any good Repeater recommendations ?)
    I have a Tablet PC, Does anyone have any recommendations in terms of SOFTWARE ? and can I use it to control all the AV/Lights etc etc + do I need a USB IR Extender as the IrDA port maybe weak on the Tablet PC ???

3)
    MULTI-ROOM Music

I got a PC with loadsa MP3s upstairs - can I pipe this to anyroom (Please note I have just cabled my house with Cat 6) - so I can access the music anywhere BUT do I need a seperate AMP in each room EXPENSIVE - or is there a cheaper way I can do this - Maybe using Windows XP Media Centre and a Remote control to select music/tv/vids/pics/Internet ?

What are your ideas/thoughts ?

4)
    FINALLY

Any Ideas or Pointers will be great. I really need some help as there are so many things you can do !!! I just need some focusing and ADVICE !!

Many Thanks ALL

2. Gooba

Gooba
    Standard Member

Products Owned: