1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i need help in buying an A/V receiver!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Spacedog, Apr 5, 2004.

1. Spacedog

Spacedog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there.

I'm thinking about buying a dvd/audio system with an A/V receiver, DVD player, 2 speakers and a subwoofer.

I wonder if anyone can tell me about a good A/V receiver in the market. I've heard lots of good stuff about the Yamaha AV-RXV640RDS, but i'm new to this stuff so i don't know much about good/bad brands/models.

Anyone can help me? Give me some sugestions?

3 other A/V's in my list are Denon AVR1604, Marantz SR4400 and NAD T742.

What do you guys think?

Thanks a lot.

2. avanzato

avanzato

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +60
    I have a Yamaha amp. Which in the Yamaha tradition is well made, well featured and sounds great with movies, but not quite so good with music.

I haven't heard the others in your list but did recently listen to an Onkyo 5**something or other? that sounded really good and I was told are very reliable. Onkyo are massive in the rest of the world but haven't yet broken through in the UK.

The shop also had Harman but I didn't have time to listen to them.

3. Kazman

Kazman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +136
    You shouldn't go wrong with any of the amps in the shortlist. I used to own a Marantz SR4300 and must say, it was a fantastic little amp for the money.

The Yamahas are also very good. Haven't heard the NADS so cannot comment on them unfortunately.