1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need advice on buying a widescreen TV

Discussion in 'TVs' started by FirstTimeBuyer, Dec 14, 2001.

1. FirstTimeBuyer

FirstTimeBuyer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This will the first time I buy a TV (because I'm moving out - I'm a student, but I digress). But anyway because I don't know much about tvs and I dont want to waste my money buying a poor set, I'd like advice as to what is the best widescreen set I can get for £800 (£900 being the max upper limit for the tv), and where can I get it from? Oh and can someone explain the 'virtual dolby' feature on some tvs? Many thanks for you help in advance.

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,023
    Virtual dolby is a means of simulating the effect a full surround setup (which should use 5 or more speakers) from the two stereo speakers in the TV. Opinions vary, but I'd say it's not really worth spending extra on. Better to save the cash and get a separate DD amp and a set of 5 speakers later.

My next comment may well be controversial.

My suggestion is to spend as little money as you can on the TV.

Why?

Because, I fully believe that, within only a few years, flat panel technologies (eg LCD and Plasma) will take off in a big way. Whilst at present there are advantages with flat panels (othere than their size/weight) there are also disadvantages, not least of which is their relatively huge cost.

However, if I were a gambling man, I'd put money on flat panels becoming hugely more affordable, and better in performance within, say, three years. By that time, I'd guess that a flat panel TV will command a premium of only 25-50% over a similarly specified regular TV.