I mac constant reboot cycle

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by blu disc, May 5, 2016.

  1. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    Hi

    My 27 inch i mac mid 2011 model has developed a fault where it constantly reboots every couple of minutes. The apple support website mentions a Kernel error/fault. I booked a genius bar appointment at my local apple shop the guy who i spoke to was very good. He tested it in front of me and could not fault it. It is now staying with Apple for a few days to see if the fault can be re created. My only concern is i could not back up the data in time and I'm worried about losing pictures i have stored on its hard drive. The i mac worked ok until i tried to back up my photos to i cloud then it all went wrong. Apple said they may have to re install the operating software but i shouldn't lose my data, is this the case or am i doomed.
     
  2. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +505
    They shouldn't need to reinstall. But they might. Really if you can't back up you should take the drive out, replacing with a spare, before taking it in for repair.

    There's a known fault with the 27" iMacs from 2011. Apple opened up a repair program for it. Normally it's an issue with the logicboard/gpu.
     
  3. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks for reply they called and said it was the graphics card
     
  4. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +505
  5. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks it should be ready soon
     
  6. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    MacrosTheBlack

    Thank you so much for your help I contacted apple and they have said the repair is free now when I was originally quoted £140. I will pick it up tonight on my way to work.
     
  7. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    Picked up i Mac turned it on at work in my office and it has exactly the same fault. Seriously not amused will telephone the so called Genius Bar tomorrow as it's obviously not been tested after repair. I had it fail after 5 minutes.
     
  8. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +505
    Make a good fuss. I know someone who had a high spec 2011 iMac fail with that issue and Apple failed to repair it, so replaced with a 5k Retina model! Nice....

    You can blame all the idiots who decided it's more environmentally friendly to take lead out of solder. Well it's not environmentally friendly when all the boards die in a few years and hundreds of thousands of machines end up in landfills instead of being reused and recycled.....
     
  9. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    I had a moan at them on the phone about them attempting to charge me and obviously not testing it thoroughly when the repairs were completed. I was told to just take it back no appointment needed. I also said you try carrying this around its not exactly light. They apologised and said they will look into it. The genius guy tested it in front of me and it failed after 5 minutes, he said I think I know what this is a software fault. I said keep it as long as you need I don't want it back until it works.
     
  10. beastofrock

    beastofrock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Okehampton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +211
  11. beastofrock

    beastofrock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Okehampton, Devon
    Ratings:
    +211
    apologies i meant to tag @MacrosTheBlack how recent was it your friend got everything changed over?
     
  12. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +505
    Was about 6 months ago now.

    Book your iMac in at the genius bar at your nearest Apple store and show them the Replacement Program link and that you suspect this is the issue. They will run a more advanced diagnostic on it for you and should it not be covered, quote you a repair price before doing any work. So you have nothing to lose.
     
  13. blu disc

    blu disc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +64
    They have tested it and come to the conclusion the operating software needs re installing. I said leave it so I can back up the hard drive and I will do it myself. If the problem persists I will take it back after.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice