1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I know another same old question!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Semiskimmed1976, Dec 30, 2003.

1. Semiskimmed1976

Semiskimmed1976

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    I've just brought my first sub yesterday - a REL Quake - and basically I want to ensure I am getting the best out of it.

Being that i'm new to subs - the dials on the back and the booklet that comes with it, is making me a little confused - so please bear with me, cause i'm sure all my questions are simple, but better to ask and get the best out of my system than to sit back and wonder...

At the moment I have my contour set to depth instead of slam (cause I understand what they mean about this one in the manual :laugh: )

The Rolloff - I sort of know what this means, but how do I know where to set the rolloff...at the moment, I have it set to about 80HZ but how do I know being that i've paradigm floorstanders, should the rolloff be around 50Hz?

Next I have a mode switch with 1, 2, 3 and 4 - i've selected 2 but not sure why :) so which one should I set it too, and does anyone know how I would use the others and in what situations..

Next I have a low-level and hi-level - both of them are set to 12 O'Clock - what should be my criteria for setting these?

Phew...hope your still :boring: but if anyone knows anything about REL Quake, then help me :)

Cheers,
    Matt

2. Reiner

Reiner

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    If the sub is connected via line level to an AV amp/receiver, set the roll-off to the maximum or activate the bypass (if applicable).
    Let the AV amp/receiver take care of the cross-over frequency and bassmanagement.

Dunno REL products. What does the manual say?

You should level the subs volume to the other channels using a test tone generated by the AV amp/receiver or test DVD.