• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

I Have £400 For A New 32" TV. What Should I Get?

repoman88

Standard Member
Hello All, new to the forums, seen this place on the hotdeals site when i was scouting about for a Telly deal and thought i would saunter on over and get some advice.

Situation is my old telly has finally given up, and i am using an old 1980's refurbished Baird which only works on 3 channels so desperately need a new TV.

I have not bought a new TV in a LONG time, and do not really know which to get.

I would like-
32" model.
LCD
HD ready
Digital freeview inbuilt
Possibly a PC connector (not that important)
Decent picture and sound- i am new to this pixels and contrast ratio lark, but have worked out the higer the better?
A decent reliable make

I know you probably get loads of these requests and i have looked around the usual online shops like currys, dixons etc but nothing seems to stand out in my price range.

So for £400 max , what do you think i should get?

Any help much appreciated.

repoman88

Standard Member
Change of plan, i now have up to £500 and would consider a 37" as well.

I am quite baffled looking at all these new TV's, any help?

jamiesdad

hi take a look at empire direct they have the lg32lb75 for £429.99 it received 5 stars in what hi fi s snd v there's also a thread on this forum samsung ler87bdx gets a very good write up in the mags. E.D doing it for £479.99 they are 32 inchers.

anyway good luck

cheers D

repoman88

Standard Member
Thanks for your help comrades. am still mulling things o0ver and am looking over your suggested recommendations.

Am i also right in thinking that Richer sounds will match any online price from another shop for the same model or was that just a wild rumour?

The latest video from AVForums