1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I hate these forums (:grin:)

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Messiah, Aug 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +339
    There I was thinking I was happy with my new projector (3 week old Epson TW100 LCD) until I ventured into this forum (which should be classed as the 'forbidden land' for any LCD owners :D )

Reading all the posts about CRT picture quality etc I have taken the plunge and sold my new baby (not literally, I mean the TW100) and am going down the route of CRT. I won't be looking to buy for a couple of months as I am going to prepare an existing 1st floor conversion (22'x17') for the 'cinema'. As a complete CRT newbie I have a few burning initial questions which I would be grateful for any advice on.

Q. Should I be considering buying new or secondhand?

Q. Are there any particular things I should be looking for (line doublers/triplers, screen ratio, connection types, etc)?

Q. Am I doing the right thing going from LCD to CRT and will the picture quality difference be 'enormous'?

I did dem a CRT unit (not intentionally but it was running in the dem room when I was looking for the new LCD/DLP) and remember thinking it was a fantastic picture but that was in a dem room with no windows etc. Think it was a Barco 500 or something like that. I'm just hoping I've not been too hasty (but then that's me all over :eek: ).

Any other advice anyone can provide to a newbie would be most welcome. Thanks.

2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,809
    1: New or s/h?