1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I got a CRT for myself......

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Gordon @ Convergent AV, Oct 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    Yes, I couldn't last without one at home so I got myself one from.....Roland!

    Not a Barco though. A Sony 1270. We don't tend to read too much about these on this forum but that's going to change. Here's my plan.

    It's about 93/94 vintage I think. No Hr meter but looking in tubes all seems OK. What I intend to do is use it to create an on-line guide to setting up a s/h CRT. Or a new one for that matter. I'm going to take pictures of each step as I take it from dirty, knackered looking dim colourless hulk to bright shiny mega charged nutter machine. Well, that's the idea. This article will be available on my web site. I'll update it as things happen. This will include all the usual set up stuff and some unusual set up stuff!

    Already I've taken some screen shots after one night of checking it's sort of OK. Now going to go downstairs and open it up for more photo's and a clean. Don't expect this article to appear overnight though. This is going to take a while I think.....

    Cheerio.

    Gordon:)

    Pic is from last night. Scene from Bring It On. You can see the picture scanning over my screen frame and on to the yellow wall behind. Yes, it seems this unit has short throw lens's. Which is kinda cool as I now also need to build a bigger screen....yipee.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    and what Video Processor are you using there Gordon ;)
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    Hey Neil...

    It was an unprocessed composite video feed from a Denon DVD2800. That's the best I could do. Soon however I will have to actually put my hand in my pocket and stump up for a processor for permanent residence in Chez Fraser. It will have to be Melanie proof and Pronto-able. I'm considering getting a Crestron or AMX but that may have to wait a bit....they're rather expensive you know!

    Cheers,

    Gordon
     
  4. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah, do it properly. Get a vMachine (tm)... per pixel scaling, excellent deinterlacer, upgradeable, razor sharp... no need for SDI...
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    I will be talking with you soon Neil.

    For everyone else I've updated the site with a new page about the projector. I've also finished off the Event speil.

    Gordon
    with my new Halloween Avatar....
     
  6. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon,
    You might want to take a look at the new colour Pronto Pro (8mb)(if you haven't done so already).
    I was going to call it a poor mans Crestron but it deserves better than that. Its absolutely superb.
    The RF atachment will ship soon which will make it one hell of a machine.
    I recieved mine last week and haven't stopped tinkering.

    Eric
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    Hi Eric,

    I've had the ProntoPro Edit for a while and thought about it. I have a Pronto already but although it's great I yearn for a MUCH bigger screen. Not enough room for decent size buttons on there.

    I almost bought a Crestron system off AVS classifieds a while back. Wish I had now. Ideally I'm looking for a large panel with hard keys too. Is the display any bigger on the colour one? I also want to use RS232 to some devices probably.

    Gordon
     
  8. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Sounds like a good idea for the projector project Gordon. What screen do you have at the moment?

    How about getting a wonderful Cheese box for your video processing? ;)

    Rick

    PS The D600 is now in a lovely shade of satin black.
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    Cheese box is out I'm afraid. I'm lookng for an artefact free image....and it doesn't have aspect ratio control.

    Not sure what colour I'm going to paint it. Yellow has been suggested by Alan at SS because he says it's a lemon....

    Current screen is just under 160cm wide large section of MDF painted white and screwed to wall. This then has a border screwed on top to create the look of a real screen. I'm going to buy some real screen fabric this time though I think.

    Gordon
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Have you still got your Quadscan Gordon?

    Or are you looking at a nice new Vigatech 1280?

    My Cheese hasn't arrived yet!

    It's annoying me now!
     
  11. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +533
    Is it just me (i'm on a diet), or is Home Cinema based on food?.

    We heard all about "Yoghurts" at the event.
    Then people were getting "Spam".
    Now we have de-interlacers called "Cheese".
    Gordons projector is being painted "Banana" yellow,
    because it's a "Lemon".

    Then there's the films!.

    Hamburger Hill
    Breakfast at Tiffanys
    Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory to name but a few

    Well stuff the diet!, pass me a beer and some popcorn. That slimfast was only nice over a portion of chips anyway!. :D

    I need to get out more:p
     
  12. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Interestingly I was drinking Fosters Ice while writing that post.

    Well it's food related....
     
  13. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,999
    and here I am replying over breakfast......

    Rick, I don't have a quadscan. I am considering my options regarding a scaler. I am unsure what the 1270 needs on a 16:9 screen. Remeber the liunes area vertically compressed so we need less of them to fill the space. Probably going to find 480P isn't enough and I'm going to moddify some of the boards along the way like Chris Stephens did over at AVS on the Vision1. Alan and I also have some other tricks up our sleeves....

    So 600P may be required. The things I really want I can't afford. The VC1280 being one althouh for my own needs I fancy playing with a Rock Plus or one of Neils PC's. The Quadscan is more my price range. Vigatec's Sage powered doubler and video switcher could be interesting but it only does 480/576P.... This isn't an easy job is it? As I have access to Vigatec's Runco's etc at work I will be using them for evaluation purposes until such time as the 1270 is up, working, and in need of permanent processing.

    Gordon

    Off to get more coffee...
     
  14. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Isn't it nice when even Gordon is in the same boat as the rest of us;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...