1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i got £1200 to spend on amp & cd player help!!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by twinny82, Aug 11, 2005.

1. twinny82

twinny82

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just had the chance to buy some quad 11L speaker fairly cheap from a mate i ork with they are only 6 month old and i got them for £220 anyway i now need an amp and cd player £1200 to spend altogether can any1 help as im new to all this??

2. CJROSS

CJROSS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +343
    Twinny. £1200 can buy you a lot of hifi kit.

Quad 11s, I would look at the following amps second hand or ex-dem :

Primare A20 Mk II - £400
    Primare A30.1 Mk II - £700
    Unison Research Unico - £600
    Sugden A21a - £600

All will gel well with the Quad’s smoothe nature IMHO. Leaves you roughly £600, where I would spend £300 on a second hand active subwoofer to add to those speakers, this will transform the sound of the Quads (the Primares mentioned have pre-outs so you can run the sub off these connections very easily) – usual suspects from REL, MJA & Velodyne.

Leaves you roughly £300-400, If you have a DVD player already I would add a DAC (do as search of the hifi forum) these range in price from £100 - £2000 mainly, and can transform the sound of an existing disc spinner. £400 will also buy you a lot of CD or DVD player, so you can procure a reall interesting system for £1200, to suppliment the Quads.

Spend a bit of time researching what your about to do, as it is important to the shape of your future system.

3. stebbo

stebbo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    May I offer different advice from the esteemed Mr Ross.

Secondhand Arcam FMJ A22 and a Diva CD93. Should probably come in under budget.