1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i get my panny tomorrow

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by danielthesaint, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    after looking though the av forums for five days i have finally bought myself a TH42PW6 silver one with a TY42TM6Y board all for £1758.99. will get it tomorrow from DIGITAL-POINT. good customer skills so far they phoned me to tell its on its way. so far 10/10 on that . so people what u think good deal? :thumbsup:


    p.s i did want silver to match rest of my stuff. :)
     
  2. Leigh_1973

    Leigh_1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    you did order a stand right? ;)
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sounds like a few PW6/7 and veira will be landing this weekend............ Busy weekend guys and remember turn off dynamic AS soon as you power it up...................
     
  4. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    £130 seems a bit steep try www.av-sales.co.uk fopr a proper panny stand or RS for some cheap feet....
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  7. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think av-sales website is down trying to click but getting the cant find website screen. is there a way i can set up the screen just to test then i can get my stand later? :) i was going to get vision hopefuly i made a good choice....come on you pannys

    Thanks for your help on this
     
  8. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    I haven't really been following prices much but that seems like one hell of a good price.

    I bought my Panny 4-series 2 years and 2 months ago. It cost me about £3600. At that time some local dealers (not very plasma-savvy) were still charging £5k.

    I feel sick.... :rolleyes: Mrs. Kazuya better keep me away from that Home Entertainment Show in a couple of weeks.....
     
  9. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    in just a couple of years price have gone down alot. just like pcs every six months boom somthing new comes out. :clap:
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    link works for me try refreshing browser......
     
  11. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Remember that the board has BNC connectors - so if you plan on using component from an RCA device (e.g. DVD player) you'll either need 3 convertors (approx. £5 each for decent ones) or an RCA to BNC component lead (which I can't seem to find on any cable sellers websites!)

    ZedZed
     
  12. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    If you want feet for the plasma
    www.richersounds.com sold me some partington universal plasma feet
    for £56 inc delivery (£50 if they have a shop near you) and they are great.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  14. quattro

    quattro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stafford
    Ratings:
    +16
    AV sales do the BNC to phono component leads :)
     
  15. Digger

    Digger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    World Wide Supermarket
    Ratings:
    +206
  16. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for all the info...i just been on maplins website and they do the phono to BNC. there is a maplin shop not far from me. what picture do u think i will get from using the phone to bnc?
     
  17. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Convertors or cable? In either case it should be OK if they are decent quality ... but you might find it's worth going to a "proper" Hi-Fi store and getting something gold-plated etc - not sure what Maplins cables are like. Depends how fussy you're going to be on PQ I guess. Generally accepted wisdom from these forums would be "why spend £2K on a screen and then use crappy cables" ....... but since I've yet to make my plasma purcahse (it's a PW6 or a PW7 - making a final decision tonight!) I can't say either way.

    ZedZed
     
  18. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    true you want to get as much quality out from your plasma screen. the ones at maplin are Nickel plated connectors so i am guessing crap :laugh: looks like a trip to the west end tomorrow
     
  19. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is what i am getting on av-sales

    The Virtual Control Panel on this server has now been upgraded to MyServerWorld 10.0

    To login to MyServerWorld 10.0, you should visit https://myserverworld.com/
     
  20. t0by

    t0by
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Let us know what you decide, zedzed. I'm in the same quandry as you! Also keen to know your reasons for the final decision that you make.

    Cheers
     
  21. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    I'm using Skytronic SCART cables (99p each) from local supermarkets
    and A Belkin Pro High Integrity VGA cable from ebuyer (£6.99)

    the picture on my PWD6 is perfect in every way (as the PWD6 does not have
    the video loopback connected in the SCART terminal board, any SCART cable is likely to work well). You must use shielded cables on the VGA or it will look bad (reflections), High Integrity is shielded, normal Belkin pro is not (so don't buy it)

    My one cable mistake was getting the MADCOW xbox component box, which doesn't use shielded cable, and so looks naff (reflections), I should have got the Microsoft Hi Def kit.
     
  22. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Still - not 100% sure - but looking like being the PW6. With no obvious advantages to the PW7 (apart from HDMI - but i don't think that will be defacto standard for some time). So I think I'll go with the PW6 and save myself £300 or so. Digital point are doing it for £1750 with the dual width component board - so you get svideo connection too (and composite - but who the f*** feeds composite into a 42" panel? Well .. apart from Dixons employees ;) ), or £1,900 with table top stand. Add £120 or so for a JS Tech. box and another £80 for cables and it's all set up and running for 2.1K

    The only other thing I'm considering doing is getting another component board - and maybe connecting my xbox to that - but as the boards in the 6 and 7 series are the same then there's no hurry - I can pick one up later if I decide to do that.

    ZZ
     
  23. t0by

    t0by
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Worth reading this thread, zedzed:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154480

    There is quite a lot in it about the diffs between PW6 and PW7. Also, someone is citing a price differential of only £160 - might be worth a read for you? It was certainly enlightening reading for me...

    Toby
     
  24. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    got my panny today...not set anything up yet but there is a question i would like to ask...on the box it says made in china is that right? i mean panny are from Japan if i am not mistaken but as everybody has raved about panny i guess no matter where its made it must have the good stuff inside :thumbsup: oh model number TH-42PWEXS-R hopefuly i will give some news later cheers.

    :clap:
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sounds like a grey import to me mate..... UK model on BOX should say TH-42PW6B definatley end in B but i think you knew it was an import didnt you.... whats the deal with warranty?
     
  26. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    12 MONTHS GUARANTEE (PARTS & LABOUR) this is from http://www.digital-point.co.uk...this is a import? is that bad i mean made in china? had a look on the box looks like its from germany says GMBH
     
  27. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think it means you will have to courier it to somewhere in Europe if it breaks (which will probably cost a few bob).

    ZZ
     
  28. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Save £130 quid and get an import.... Hmmmm dunno mate....... Having dealt with panny service and their nominated plasma repairer i would be wary of this...... for example what happens if the screen starts to Buzz really loud but Picture is still there? As has happened to another forum user........ on a £2000 purchase i dont think it is worth the risk mate....... But hope you are happy with the unit cause its an excellent peice of kit..... Made in China....... I was sure they had made in Malaysia on them.... But it would not surprise me if panny had several plants knocking these out.... Some are made in Japan ...HD screens??? SD screens i thought came out of malaysia (UK Stock) Veira for UK are Czech assembled not sure where screens are built same as PW range i assume.... Good luck mate and remember take it out of dynamic mode...
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    more likely digital point will.... not a huge issue but can add 2 weeks to turn around ie be without screen for upto 6 weeks if it goeas faulty (hope thats not a chineese model no could be 6 months....)
     
  30. danielthesaint

    danielthesaint
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did not know this was a import. it does not say it on there website and i have sent a e-mail saying i want my money back as they have not said on there website grey import. i dont belive this have they broken any rules coz if they have i will come down hard on them with full force of tradeing standards.
     

Share This Page

Loading...