1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't believe them!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Madkitty, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. Madkitty

    Madkitty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ok so I bought a new pwetty 17" LCD from Argos for the bedroom - its currently connected to the downstairs Sky+ box and the picture is terrible :mad: It Cant be anything to do with the connection as my previous TV was fine - spoken to tech support and they say you won't get a perfect picture from an LCD on a cable extension. I know I don't know much technically but this seems crazy...are they right?
     
  2. slowpoke

    slowpoke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +17
    what do you mean by a cable extension...are you using a magic eye?
     
  3. Madkitty

    Madkitty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    told you not very technical :rotfl: coax cable from the box downstairs to tv upstairs and then yes the magic eye
     
  4. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    get a freeview box for the bedroom.
     
  5. slowpoke

    slowpoke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +17
    mmmmmm, im worried now because im about to but the samsung 26 and plan to use it exactly the same way...will give samsung a call
     
  6. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Yup, all the LCD TVs I've tried give nasty results from the RF input. Probably something to do with noise present on this connection type that the TV then has to filter. Agree with akki, get a second decoder or a new Freeview one.
     
  7. Madkitty

    Madkitty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    then I cant watch things on the sky planner :eek:
     
  8. slowpoke

    slowpoke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +17
    anyone else aware of this problem...probably not worth spending £600 on a new LCD
     
  9. akki007

    akki007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +154
    If you feed a quality connection to the TV, it will look great. Run a Coax the length of your house and its going to look like a turd!

    You could always wall mount your CRT. That will look ace. :rotfl:
     
  10. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    RF feed looks good on our Samsung 15" LCD.


    I have an aerial amplifier about a foot down from the actual aerial so that may have helped.
     
  11. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I run a RF feed through a Pace twin and a few other things then via a distribution amplifier to a 17" Sony LCD and 2 other CRT's. There is a little snow on the LCD but is so fine it may even be dither. Otherwise, the picture is very watchable and unless you looked close you would not see the snow.

    Maybe a distribution amplifier is the way to go for a second system - our one provides magic eye support for the Pace box so would probably be compatible with the magic eye for Sky boxes.

    -Ian
     
  12. Cyclone

    Cyclone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +44
    The RF connection from my SKY box (downstairs) to my Acer 26" (Bedroom) looked quite bad, I now get a 'much' better picture using the AEI digisender (from Argos). The picture quality is about the same as a direct composite cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...