• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

I am a Photographer and Not a Terrorist.

Trollslayer

Distinguished Member
A badly needed one.

Pirate!!

Banned
Team America springs to mind . . . .
team-america-011.jpg

Last edited:

Dave

Distinguished Member
I'm probably going to get shot down in flames for this but hey ho.:rolleyes:

I think some photographers have a bit of a "poor me, my civil right :mad::mad::mad::mad:" attitude regarding the police and photography.

Police have to act on information given to them. Imagine for a moment the headline "Police told about terrorist photographer and do nothing". That can't be allowed to happen. If someone tells police that someone is taking photographs and they look dodgy they are duty bound to investigate, likewise if they see someone photographing significant buildings etc. The excuse of "well I don't look like a terrorist" will simply not wash, what does a terrorist look like? Should police only target Irish photographers or Asian photographers? Of course not.

I know that some people on here have had very negative experiences with Police and I'm not naive enough to think that this doesn't happen but the vast majority of coppers are more than supportive of your right to photograph whatever the hell you want. I've even put a photographer straight about the law as he wanted to photograph an armed police officer and wasn't sure if he'd get shot for it. (During a very nice chat about the history of crime on the canals as he was a historian researching the subject). On the flip side I've gone to chat to a photographer mainly to dribble over his very nice gear only to be virtually ignored and have 2 of his friends run over to "rescue him" in their own words (rescue him from what? Gear envy?).