Hyundai (PCWorld) HLT3711 37" High Definition Ready LCD TV

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by scotchgitt, Mar 20, 2006.

Tags:
  1. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hyundai HLT3711 37" High Definition Ready LCD TV for £999


    I fancy a 37" or greater LCD but have a limited buget of £1000.

    Seen a few 37 but they are all around 1300-1500 but can stretch to that at the moment.

    Main use of this TV will be for the 18month old to watch CBeebies. Wife read somewhere that CRTs give off radiation that is bad for infants, and ours tends to stand very close to TV and interacts with presenters (all you parents will know what I mean).

    Plan on replacing the 30" 12 year old CRT (moving this to the bedroom). When the CRT eventually goes will get a Panasonic or Toshiba and move the "cheap" LCD to the bedroom.

    Any comments on Hyundai or this model/spec?

    Thanks
     
  2. CoolCurly

    CoolCurly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    This is not a Hyundai ImageQuest product, it is OEM'ed by Hyundai Corporation.
     
  3. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know who the manufacturer could be? I have tried to search for more details but can't find any?

    thanks
     
  4. blakey1

    blakey1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +40
    Why not buy the Sharp p50e? It SD picture is better than TV's double the price and whilst not HD ready most who have seen it running HD have seen no difference between it and a HD ready set. It has HDMI and accepts all HD signals etc. Also cant see CBBC etc being in HD for sometime yet

    Its £899 at richer sounds. Just look over the last 2 pages of the LCD forum to see the happy owners.

    Dont forget that most budget HD LCD's are not great with SD and theres more to HD than the pixels.

    I have the 37 P50e and its great set made by Sharp.

    Would suggest going and viewing a few sets and then deciding. At your bufget though I cant see any set coming close to the Sharp but you never know.
     
  5. rainstel

    rainstel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotta agree with that. I've got a P50E atm and the IQ is first rate, both with freeview and dvd playback.
     
  6. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +447
  7. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies guys. It is such a minefield out there and this forum has helped me understand the jargo.

    Went to Makro last night and they were flogging a 37" Goodmans in black (not silver). This is what we (Mr Scotchgitt) were wanting but had never seen one.

    £799 + vat HD ready Black.
    37in (93.9cm) TV with 92cm visible screen size.
    Not the highest resolution but when I plugged in my laptop it looks great. Superb being able to use PIP and have half the tv browsing the broadband web while watch the TV on the other half.
    Resolution 720 x 1080 pixels.
    Brightness 550cd/m2.
    Contrast ratio 1000:1.


    here is a link to the spec. but the full unit is black doesn't have the silver bit.

    What a TV. I am really happy with it and what a great price.

    Just need to get my ariel (for freeview) sorted as I am in my 30 days before Sky+ is cut off.

    Then buy my hdd dvd recorder to replace some of the Sky+ functions (and archive all the Disney Playhouse I have been recording for the weeman before it is taken away.

    I feel really good about getting rid of Sky now, £42+ in my pocket a month (nearly cover the cost of the tv in 1 year), no more moaning about all these channels and nothing to watch, no more 2 year old premiers and I can support the Freeview generation and hopefully more channels will take a leaf out of the FilmFour business book and changge to freeview as advertising will increase their profits.

    Sky+ is the best bit of entertainment technology for the house but not at £42+ per month. Hopefully Freeview will give them a run for their cash and make them rethink the pricing.
     
  8. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +115
    Is that Goodmans a Plasma or an LCD?

    The 37" screen res of 1024x768 is a typical plasma screen resolution, usually 37" lcd's would be 1366x768..............or was it the max resolution your lappy would feed it??

    btw if it weighs 60kg's its a plasma, if its 30kg's its a LCD.........thumb rule.....ish.....:D
     
  9. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is an LCD and although that link I posted does say 1024x768 I am sure the box and the sign in Makro said 1366x768

    My laptop is a 1280x800 wxga nVidia thing.
     
  10. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +115
    Sorry.............just saw the link, with Argo description.
     
  11. scotchgitt

    scotchgitt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read the manual last night it is 1366x768 and I photographed a couple of the pages and put them on my site if other folks are interested.

    Couple of questions though.

    What is SCART2S? It has scart1, scart2 and scart2s...

    Why is the s/p dif connection in the TV a different type of connector to the s/p dif in my laptop. Laptop is a standard 3.5mm jack but the TV looks like a square shape?


    Specification

    Specification pt2


    Remote Control

    Remote Control pt2
     
  12. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,483
    1. Scart No. 2 wired up to accept an S-Video connection (Scart 1. will likely be intended for RGB).

    2. "Square" s/pdif = optical. You'll need a little 'translator' box to convert it (~£10). Is this not just an output though ?

    Mike.
     
  13. tfboy

    tfboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +455

Share This Page

Loading...