Hurrah! - Projector arrives - Web site lives!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tryingtimes, Dec 4, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Well the time has come.
    Roland is due tomorrow and me being me I wanted to have a bit of fun with my cinema.

    I've hastily (about 5 hours!) put up a website with a few bits and pieces on it.
    Don't worry - it will grow!

    Hopefully I'll be publishing install photos during tomorrow (yes I know you've seen it all before :D ) in the section provided.

    I'm hopefully going to develop the site into more than just text lists.
    Ideas so far include downloads of Talisman GUIs, Film intro movies, etc.
    I'm hoping to have a section for locals that allows voting of what films they would like to see.

    Robo (the logo) will probably change and eventually be part of some 3D movies but of course all this takes time - and a baby's on it's way!)

    Anyway - here's the link - Enjoy


    SEVENFOOTFILM

    For anyone interested in how good it might one day look see my other recent creation - Fi Direct

    Regards
    Alex
     
  2. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    OK - it looks like the domain name servers were taking a bit longer to become visable than I'd thought.

    I'm getting some reports of people being able to see it and some get nothing.

    It seems to be appearing to more people as time goes on so take a punt and report back

    Cheers

    PS Roland is here and has now put up the screen and the projector bracket. So far so good!
     
  3. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alex, when you're done we can trade war stories on TheaterTek. Make sure you get a picture of Rolands Belly hanging from the Bracket!

    Jenz.
     
  4. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Right - I have now put up a few photos on SEVENFOOTFILM
    We have now got the projector and screen up and we are just about to connect the HCPC so Roland can calibrate it.

    Enjoy!
    Alex
     
  5. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    I'll just keep replying to my own thread shall I:(

    It is now 11:30 and I'm off to bed - there are a few more photos up on SEVENFOOTFILM including screenshots

    Hope someone's interested:rolleyes:

    I've got a lot of rewiring to do tomorrow :(

    Night
    Alex
     
  6. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Alex,

    Looking good & welcome to the Barco owners club :D
    Hope it gives you as much pleasure, as mine does.(whoops i'll rephrase that) nah....you know what i mean.

    BTW what camera are you using??

    Cheers

    Tim
     
  7. NickBull

    NickBull
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I second that, welcome to the clum. You did well to get to bed for 11:30! I think I was up until 5:30am The following morning, although Roland did fit it on a Friday so I could.

    Decided to watch DAS Boot, it's a long film!!!!

    Now, if you need an application form for Tweakers Anonymous I believe most peopole on this forum can get hold of them!!!!

    All the best

    Nick
     
  8. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hmmm

    Just finished my third mince pie this morning.
     
  9. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +552
    Alex, don't worry!.
    We were all keeping an eye on your install throughout the day.:)

    I was the one who interrupted Roly with a quick question about memory blocks!.

    I have read the manual, but i just don't get it. I normally pick things up quickly but not this one!.

    I think i need a "Idiots guide to Barco memory blocks"!.

    I mean there are 1-99 memory stores, but everyone says there are 32 blocks?. So does that mean there are 99 mems for every block?. I mean there is only five possible inputs on the PJ ie s/video(x2)-composite-RGBHV-9 pin"D" etc.
    On the remote number:-
    1 is say composite
    2 is say svideo
    3 and 93 are for 9 pin "D" input.
    4 and 94 are for RGBHV 4.3 on my PJ
    5 and 95 are for RGBHV 16.9 on my PJ.

    So does that mean i can have say "3" for 4.3, and "93" for 16.9?.

    Also if i want can i run the PJ with:-

    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    Via the number "3" 9 pin "D" HTPC input?

    But i need a totally breakdown of how to achieve this etc.

    I just need to understand the the structure of the memory etc.

    I've noticed if a game selects a resolution or refresh rate the PJ doesn't know, the screen just goes blank. Yet if i select a new resolution or refresh rate. The projector seems to cope, requiring just a quick geometry adjusment etc!.

    I must admit i'm enjoying this challenge!, as each day i learn something new about the machine. And that each day i seem to be getting more and more picture quality!.:D
     
  10. NickBull

    NickBull
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am keeping mine as simple as posible! A bit like myself really. I've sussed how to copy memory blocks and that's about it. I did keep copying one to a bad block and then it reverted back, then I remembered Roland said you had to adjust contrast of Brightnes for it to create the new one(i.e. the copy).

    Apart from that, I treaked a couple of settings on WINDVD. Both colour sliders up a single notch from default and it just warms up the picture slightly, without losing the colour balance or the film like quality.

    One thing I have noticed, and I may start a new thread in the HTPC forum, is on some films I get a funy effect, in dark scenes the blacks look great, then they go all blocky and artefacted for a split second, then normal. This repeats as kind of a dull flashing.
    It's only certain films so it may eb a disk issue. Last night I noticed it on Batman R2 and I've also noticed it on Star Trek First Contact R2. I might try the ATI player see if it's a problem with WinDVD.

    Watched Austin Powers The spy Who Shagged Me last night. It looks fantastic. Worth a try on any projector and a definite demo disk, so many vibrant colours and a pin sharp transfer.

    Nick
     
  11. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Yes, Fulabeer I thought that the memory block thing would be straightforward but what I'd found and your post does seem to throw things off what I had expected.
    I haven't got round to downloading the manual yet (I've still to rewire the rest of the kit so that I can have sound!)

    Hopefully today I will have a good play.

    I had a few problems with my pc yesterday and it took me a couple of hours just to get it back to a stable position.

    I still can't get consistent slow pans though even though I've hit the 71.928 vertical :(

    I'm hoping the TheatreTek player will sort me out (I'm using PowerDVD XP 4 at the moment)

    I think I'll be starting a fair few threads over the next fer days!

    Cheers
    Alex
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice