1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HUMAX- see this

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by bert2, Jun 30, 2005.

Tags:
  1. bert2

    bert2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leominster
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe HUMAX look at these threads and would like their comment on this as well as you folks.

    I have just bought a F2-FoxT, but this will apply to any other Freeview box I assume, on the basis that it will switch on my VCR when in syncro record mode, record the program and then switch both off. I find that it will only do this if they are connected via the TV output scart and not the VCR output scart. Since I need the usual connection of TV out to TV and VCR out to VCR this is a pain as I have to programme both VCR and ST box.

    Why do HUMAX, and all others I assume, not send the signal to switch the attached machines via both scarts?
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,541
    Why just not contact them direct?
     
  3. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    As both scarts are configurable for composite or RGB, why not just feed the VCR scart into the TV & have the TV scart switch the VCR as you require?
     
  4. bert2

    bert2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leominster
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok, done that. So now syncro record works with VCR but TV does not auto switch to correct input when Freeview box is switched on. I suppose I can live with that but shouldn't have to.

    Also Humax VCR output is not RGB configerable according to the menu. It's composite and s-video so have lost RGB benefit to TV picture.
     
  5. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    Sorry, could have sworn they were both RGB. :suicide:
     
  6. bert2

    bert2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leominster
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought so too, before I bought it, as What Video and Widescreen TV magazine said it was RGB on both. I have emailed HUMAX for clarification about this and the switching signal.
     
  7. bert2

    bert2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leominster
    Ratings:
    +2
    Humax were unhelpful, just told me what I already knew. WV&WS did not bother to reply.
     

Share This Page

Loading...