• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Humax Freesat PVR cable problem

Bluezip82

Standard Member
As a freesat newbie I am desperate for some help.

I live in an apartment with a shared dish and recently stopped subscribing to Sky and purchased a Humax Foxsat PVR.

My problem is that when recording certain channels I cannot access other channels.

I went to Maplins to purchase cables for the box and was told that two separate LNB cables would suffice.

The are two connection blocks in my apartment, one single SAT connector and another with SAT and RETURN connections. I have tried the various permutations and it only works with the SAT and RETURN connected. I have tried a factory reset but it still says only one cable is connected, hence my problem.

Does this mean I have a problem with the dish or am I using the wrong cables?

nvingo

Distinguished Member
Assuming you possess two cables with f-connectors (that screw to the receiver's LNB-in sockets), set up as follows (all changes to LNB cabling should be performed with receiver power disconnected) :
one cable between receiver's LNB1-out and LNB2-in sockets;
one cable between LNB1-in and the working SAT wall socket.
Do a reset to defaults. The receiver will now be set for single-LNB mode with some channel combination limitations.
Now move the cable from one wall SAT socket to the other. If this results in a no-signal condition, return to the original wall socket and continue to use in this mode.
If however the second wall socket also provides all channels, disconnect the cable that is on the LNB1-out socket and move that to the vacant wall SAT socket. Then do another reset to defaults. Barring any fault condition, this should result in full channel combinations being available.