Humax 1100S not finding satellite

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by bearwood, Jan 14, 2017.

  1. bearwood

    bearwood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I hope somebody can advise on a problem with a new Humax 1100S box.
    My son has moved into a flat where previously there was a sky box in use, up until a few days previously. I bought him a Humax box and we connected it to the existing cables but it cannot find the satellite, it just sits with a message saying locating satellite, then gives up, we have remade the terminations but made no difference. The on demand services are working via the internet.
    From what I have read the box should work ok with the existing dish without any realignment, so I'm not sure if it's the box at fault or if we need to be doing something additional to make it work.

    Thanks
    Peter
     
  2. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    You are right about not having to do anything else. It should 'just work' when you connect the box to the wall plate. All the programmes for Freeview and Sky come from the same sat group at 28.2E.
    Have you checked the serviceability of the patch lead(s). Is it possible that the the centre wire in the connector has been bent over so that it's not going into the wall plate/box? If you are using a single cable, I think that you need to connect to the Sat1 input on the box.
    Check out the connections first. Do you have another known good dish that you can try the box on to eliminate the possibility of the box being faulty? (Unlikely, but possible for a new box)
     
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,174
    I wonder if the previous tenant had Sky-Q. If so there may be a change needed at the multiswitch end to restore normal ku band universal lnb switching.
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    The possibility that the LNB is a Q one is growing, so do check that.
    Is it a separate dish or do the flats share a system?
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,174
    Would be interesting to swap the inputs and try again. With the horizontal cable on tuner 1 in theory the box may find the low band horizontal freesat home transponder and manage to do a postcode validation. Of course it would only find low band horizontal channels on the subsequent freesat tune.

    EDIT

    Forget this idea just realised Sky-Q uses totally different IF frequencies so a normal sat box will see nothing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2017
  6. bearwood

    bearwood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks for the input everyone, but it has been fixed now, apparently it was a defective descrambler on the dish that had not been reported by the previous tenant.
     
  7. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    What on earth is a descrambler?
     
  8. Dbcoup

    Dbcoup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +417

    Jeez..dont you know anything?

    [​IMG]

    :laugh:
     
  9. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    Looks more like an FM stereo decoder to me.
    I also would love to know what the OP actually meant.
     
  10. Dbcoup

    Dbcoup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +417
    I knew someone would know what it was :facepalm::D
     
  11. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    LM1800N doesn't take a lot of googling. Apart from that the `19kHz and large value decoupling capacitors are a bit of a give away.
    And that's a decoder anyway, not a descrambler.
     
  12. Dbcoup

    Dbcoup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +417
    Oh well..That will teach me for having a laugh. I forgot what a dull lot you all are :facepalm:
     
  13. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,174
    I reckon it was a Sky-Q output or a faulty multiswitch.
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,766
    bearwood: It would be interesting to know what was actually done to fix it!
    All we know now is that it was not a descrambler.
     
  15. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Perchede 32460
    Ratings:
    +449
    My money is on the LNB "defective ????????? on the dish that had not been reported by the previous tenant."
     
  16. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    I think that's a good bet. What else is there 'on the dish' that could be 'defective'?
     
  17. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    A DiSEqC switch ?
     
  18. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    Closer to a descrambler than an LNB, but that implies multiple LNBs and I would have thought whoever installed it would have made 29.2E the default in the DiSEqC.
     
  19. bearwood

    bearwood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all
    Thanks for the input, apparently it needed a new LNB but was called a descrambler by the guy that fixed it, maybe he was trying to keep it in simple terms.
    It is good to have a community like this who are willing to assist, it's much appreciated.
     
  20. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    And confuse the hell out of anyone with the slightest amount of nouse about sat reception:rotfl:
     
  21. Dbcoup

    Dbcoup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +417
    Who'd have thought it was that, eh?
     
  22. caldirun

    caldirun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield area
    Ratings:
    +20
    If he thought he was fitting a descrambler I bet he did a real quality job on it
     

Share This Page

Loading...