1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC slows down when connected to the internet

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by CrispyXUK, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Evening,

    Everytime I connect to the Internet after about 10 mins my HTPC slows down like a bitch on valium. So I CTL+ALT+DEL and I get DLLHOST.EXE using 91% so I Kill it. All is now well, what the fudge is going on it is driving me crazy please help if you can.

    PC Spec:
    Shuttle SS51g
    256 Ram
    Speedtouch USB (Green frogthing)
    Revo 7.1
     
  2. wolfeh

    wolfeh
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ramsgate, Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I dont know what dllhost.exe does or what its for, but it probably shouldnt be using so much cpu time.
    You could try blocking it access to the internet via a software firewall.
    Personally I use a program called Zone Alarm as a firewall. But I know not everyones a fan of it. But its easy to set up.

    Wolfeh
     
  3. Bursar

    Bursar
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +216
    Make sure you're up to date with all your Windows patches, and also your anti virus software.

    If these are all up to date, run a full virus scan across your PC.
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Sounds like the Nachi virus.
     
  5. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yup Naichi/Welchia virus - update windows and then run virus software (up to date)
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    AVG is good and free if you need anti-virus software.
     
  7. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    download stinger.exe. from McCafe and then patch the OS from MS then reboot then run stinger,

    , my mates win2k pc had this last week, and naichi had infected that very file you say is using all your CPU cycles.

    now its fine
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Right, I used Sophos to get rid of the virus but now windoows update always errors, and time clock will not sync
     

Share This Page

Loading...