HTPC Motherboard, Processor, Raid Questions

Lord Biggington

Standard Member
Well I have finally succumbed and am about to start my first htpc project to drive my new DLP hdtv. I've never built an entire pc before but have done many upgrades so am comfortable with the whole concept, but after many many hours of research on this forum and generally around I still have a few burning questions.

As I have plenty of room on my AV stand I have decided to go for a big case, easier to cool, keep quiet and expand if need be. Something like the Silverstone LC16.

I am going to use it to mainly play:
- dvd's, both off the drive and off the hard disc
- divx,xvid
- hd; wmv,ts etc
- music
- also might use it to archive stuff off my sky+ box onto dvd.
- small amount of web browsing, and office type applications.

I am fairly settled/unconcerned on half of the components but it is the important ones that I still am undecided on:

1. Motherboard - Socket 939

Would initially prefer on board spdif, and onboard dvi (although I have a sapphire Radeon 9550 AGP 256MB lying around that might do the trick, not sure how quiet/cool it is though). I would also prefer to have raid available (see below for another question on this). I have seen the coming soon gigabyte GA-K8N51PVMT-9 which seems to be exactly what I am after. Any ideas when this is due? I would like to start putting it all together at the end of this month. Any other options?

2. Processor

Have decided on an Athlon, but need to decide on dual core or not. Is there any point in going dual in a htpc? I am unlikely to use it for any serious gaming.

3. Raid etc
I am concerned about data loss so want to implement some sort of redundancy. As the case I am looking at has space for 6 hdd (with additional fans on the cages) I thought I could squeeze 4 in a raid array.

Provided I can keep everything cool and quiet are there any performance issues I should be looking at with Raid (level 5 is what I have been considering)?