1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC - I'll soon have Barco800 but aint got a clue with HTPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Phil Hinton, Jun 3, 2001.

1. Phil Hinton

Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,969
    Hi Guys,

Although i've been a HC nut for over 10yrs, i can safely say i have no clue about HTPC.

Hopefully i'll soon have a Barco 800 and know to get the best from it I'll need to use a scaler or HTPC.

My humble home pc has following spec,
    800mhz pent 3 processor,
    64mb sdram,
    20gb HD,
    12x Samsung DVDrom,
    Intel 3d agp graphics,
    power dvd.
    Model is emonster 800dvd.
    Running win me

So what will i need to get my machine up to scratch, like i say i'm complete novice and have no idea what i need.

Any help would be apriechiated
    phil.

2. Phil Hinton

Phil Hinton
    Editor Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,969
    Jeff,
    Thanks for the reply. The soundcard is a factory fitted thing with no outputs, so i'll have to invest in a new one.

I guess the main problem i have is, do you use the DVD in the pc, or can you play the standalone dvd player through the pc and use as a scaler(or i'm i on the wrong track completely with this one!?).

Like i say i have no clue what its all about and although i've started reading up, i'm finding all this 3:2 pull down scaler deinterlacer and other techno babble a bit confusing!

Any body fancy giving me a beginers master class?

3. Jeff

Jeff

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +256