1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HTPC DVD Playback

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Bluestraw, Jul 17, 2005.

1. Bluestraw

Bluestraw

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'm thinking of setting up a HTPC to go with a nice new LCD 32" (not bought yet - maybe new Philips 9830 when it comes out!)... I am still a bit of a novice, and I'm not sure the best way to feed DVDs to my new set...

To me, there seem 3 options - 1 is to feed 480i from the DVD player and let the TV upscale, 2 is to feed an upscaled 720p image from a suitable DVD player, and 3 is to playback via HTPC. Can someone with experience please tell me more about (3)? Does the PC do as good a job at upscaling as a good standalone DVD player?

Any help much appreciated :lease:

2. originalbadboy

originalbadboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    A PC should always be the best option out of the three you have listed.

480i will look terrible on an LCD, and kind of defeats the object. 720p from a DVD player will probably give you a good picture quality, but I suppose it really depends on the player used.

From personal experience (and I dont have any practical expereince of choice 2), I would always go with the HTPC solution.

You will have more control over how the picture is being reproduced, you wont have to worry about dvd regions, and as long as it is set up ok, it will look a hundred times better than any dvd player you can buy.

The only disavantage is getting the thing set up to your liking. If your not into tweaking, or playing around with PC software, customisation etc, then you may be better off with a 720p dvd player.

3. phfjones

phfjones
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a similiar situation mine.